10 Arkansas Properties Nominated to National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, August 03, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program nominated 10 Arkansas properties in seven counties to the National Register of Historic Places when it met August 2.

Properties nominated to the National Register are:

* Darragh Building at Little Rock in Pulaski County, a 1958-59 Mid-Century Modern-style building

* Governor’s Mansion Historic District Boundary Expansion at Little Rock in Pulaski County, adding 87 buildings to the district, most built between 1918 and 1967

* Dr. Charles H. Kennedy House in North Little Rock in Pulaski County, a 1964 hexagonal house designed by Warren Segraves

* West-Blazer House near Jacksonville in Pulaski County, a ca. 1912 vernacular building with Craftsman-style details

* Scull Historic District at Conway in Faulkner County, built ca. 1928 in the Craftsman style of architecture featuring ornamental concrete blocks

* Jewel Bain House #4 at Pine Bluff in Jefferson County, built around 1965 and exhibiting Japanese architectural characteristics

* Arkansas Research Test Station near Caddo Gap in Montgomery County, used between 1965 and 1969 to test advanced communications technology

* Johnson-Portis House at West Memphis in Crittenden County, built 1936-1938 and designed in the Tudor Revival style of architecture

* Pernot House at Van Buren in Crawford County, built between 1900 and 1904 and mingling several architectural styles

* Memorial Stadium at El Dorado in Union County, a 1946 concrete structure designed by architect John Abbot.

The board listed the Bush House at Hot Springs in Garland County, Linwood Cemetery at Paragould in Greene County, and the YWCA Building and American Legion Building-TAC House at El Dorado in Union County on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically significant properties that do not meet National Register requirements.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880, send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Design Network Prairie County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot historic Arkansas properties Pope County Courthouse Central High School Neighborhood Historic District 13th Amendment U.S. Forest Service Bogg Springs Hotel Perry County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation free historic preservation workshop most endangered historic places Monroe County Courthouse Tolbert Gill Cumberland Presbyterian Church Pulaski County Courthouse Sandwiching in History Pope County Arkansas Buffalo National River Mid-Century Modern Architecture Elias Camp Morris historic resort communities Helena Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Freedom Park Wingmead free teacher resources Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Register of Historic Places Freedmen's Bureau downtown economic development St. Francis County Historical Society cemetery preservsation Main Street Texarkana Abolition of Slavery Paris Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Mosaic Templars Cultural Center White County Courthouse Skillern House Madison County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery downtown revitalization American Legion free history tours Bogg Springs Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans New Century Club of Camden steel window restoration workshop Montgomery County Arkansas Ozark Farming Edgar Monsanto Queeny Civilian Conservation Corps Booneville Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Main Street Batesville historic telephone booth Arkansas History North Little Rock Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Main Street Dumas Kiblah School Free Lesson Plan Saline County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Preservation Awards Fayetteville Arkansas Flood Control 19th Century Road Construction Camden to Washington Road slipcover removal grants Centennial Baptist Church 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Newton County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs African American education Dr. Ruth Hawkins Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Benton Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Duck Hunting Arkansas Humanities Council Main Street Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Dionicio Rodriguez Trail of Tears in Arkansas Main Street Ozark Doddridge Arkansas Conway County Library Phillips County Arkansas Camden Public Library Houston Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Evelyn Gill Walker House County courthouse Restoration Grants Cemetery Preservation Library Destination Downtown Conference Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Rosston Arkansas Civil Works Administration Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Delta Cultural Center Morrilton Arkansas Burdette Plantation Main Street Searcy Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Mississippi County Arkansas News Release Roe Arkansas Turner Restoration Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council historic architecture "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Rosenwald Schools Marked Tree Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Mississippi Main Street Association Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas Railroad History Rustic Architecture Barney Elias House Gothic Revival architecture Erbie Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Art Deco Architecture National Historic Landmark Polk County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Ouachita County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants cemetery preservation Forrest City Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Let Freedom Ring Monroe County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas African American Civil War History Miller County Burdette Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Tudor Revival Architecture Nevada County Arkansas National Register of Historic Montgomery County Courthouse Camden Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas religious history Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Historic Preservation Real Estate Transfer Tax Walks Through History Arkansas Business History Sunken Lands Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas