14 Properties Nominated to National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, December 07, 2017


The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program nominated 14 Arkansas properties in eight counties to the National Register of Historic Places when it met December 6.

Properties nominated to the National Register are:

* Arkansas Teachers Association Headquarters Building and Professional Service Building at Little Rock in Pulaski County, finished in 1965 and displaying the Modern style with Miesian influences

* College Avenue Historic District at Conway in Faulkner County, featuring buildings constructed between 1910 and 1950

* Greenwood School at Hot Springs in Garland County, a 1930 building designed in the Art Deco style by architect Irven D. McDaniel

* Robert Wanslow House at Fort Smith in Sebastian County, a 1962 building constructed in the Mid-Century Modern style of architecture

* Fitzgerald Historic District at Fort Smith in Sebastian County, featuring buildings constructed between 1905 and the 1940s

* Elmwood Cemetery at Fort Smith in Sebastian County, featuring burials dating to 1891 associated with Sebastian County’s Poor Farm

* R.L. Leach Grocery Store at Dutch Mills in Washington County, a ca. 1925 wood-frame commercial building

* Highfill Community Building (Highfill School No. 71) at Highfill in Benton County, a vernacular 1911 educational structure

* Gentry Grand Army of the Republic Monument at Gentry in Benton County, erected in 1918 to honor Union Civil War veterans

* Green Valley Homestead at Sturkie in Fulton County, a complex of log buildings constructed between 1936 and 1943

* Johnny Cash Boyhood Home at Dyess in Mississippi County, a 1934 Colonial Revival-influenced building erected by the Federal Emergency Relief Administration and home of the country music legend

* Blytheville Air Force Base Strategic Air Command (SAC) Alert and Weapons Storage Areas Historic District at Blytheville in Mississippi County, consisting of buildings and structures erected around 1959 as part of a Cold War military base

* Sherman Mound and Village in Mississippi County, an archeological site with evidence of activity between 1200 and 1650 A.D.

The board listed Edwards Chapel at Russellville in Pope County, Lafayette School Gymnasium at Camden in Ouachita County, Lake June at Stamps in Lafayette County and Captain Daniel Matthews House at Osceola in Mississippi County on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically significant properties that do not meet National Register requirements.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Madison County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Prairie County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Railroad History Newton County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Batesville Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas Business History 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards News Release Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Rosston Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Camden Public Library Renaissance Revival Architecture free teacher resources North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Tolbert Gill Historic County Courthouses Clarendon Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Arkansas Design Network historic telephone booth Little Rock Central High School Main Street Siloam Springs Bogg Springs Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Dumas downtown economic development Pope County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins steel window restoration workshop Monroe County Courthouse Folk Victorian Architecture Walks Through History Forrest City Cemetery Ozark Farming Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Burdette Arkansas Abolition of Slavery U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Barney Elias House U.S. Forest Service Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Let Freedom Ring Polk County Arkansas cemetery preservation St. Francis County Historical Society historic Arkansas properties Arkansas History Lesson Plans Louisiana Main Street program Monsanto Chemical Corporation Trail of Tears in Arkansas Freedom Park African American education American Legion Main Street Texarkana Erbie Arkansas historic architecture Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Pike County Courthouse Mississippi Main Street Association Freedmen's Bureau Burdette Plantation Pope County Courthouse Cumberland Presbyterian Church free history tours Rustic Architecture Camden Arkansas most endangered historic places Ouachita County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas History slipcover removal grants Montgomery County Courthouse White County Courthouse Arkansas Register of Historic Places Henry Koen Office Building Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas downtown revitalization Three States Lumber Company Conway County Library 13th Amendment Marked Tree Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Russellville Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Gothic Revival architecture Huntsville Commercial Historic District Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Evelyn Gill Walker House Civilian Conservation Corps Downtown Revitalization Grants Poinsett County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Paris Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Benton Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Buffalo National River Helena Arkansas historic resort communities Civil Works Administration Delta Cultural Center National Register of Historic Phillips County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Booneville Historical Preservation Society Main Street Ozark Camden to Washington Road Flood Control Saline County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Perry County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Kiblah School Craftsman style architecture Miller County Turner Restoration Roe Arkansas Wingmead Monroe County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas African American Civil War History Bogg Springs Hotel Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Skillern House Sandwiching in History Arkansas Historic Preservation Historic Preservation Alliance Leake-Ingham Building Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Pulaski County Courthouse Booneville Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Duck Hunting National Historic Landmark Rosenwald Schools Real Estate Transfer Tax Central High School Neighborhood Historic District International-Style Architecture Arkansas religious history Houston Arkansas Sunken Lands Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Searcy 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation