14 Properties on National Register Agenda

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, November 22, 2017

The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider 14 Arkansas properties in eight counties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places when it meets at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, December 6, at the Department of Arkansas Heritage Building at 1100 North Street in Little Rock.

Properties to be considered for National Register nomination are:

* Arkansas Teachers Association Headquarters Building and Professional Service Building at Little Rock in Pulaski County

* College Avenue Historic District at Conway in Faulkner County

* Greenwood School at Hot Springs in Garland County

* Robert Wanslow House, Fitzgerald Historic District and Elmwood Cemetery at Fort Smith in Sebastian County

* R.L. Leach Grocery Store at Dutch Mills in Washington County

* Highfill Community Building at Highfill in Benton County

* Gentry Grand Army of the Republic Monument at Gentry in Benton County

* Green Valley Homestead at Sturkie in Fulton County

* Johnny Cash Boyhood Home at Dyess in Mississippi County

* Blytheville Air Force Base Strategic Arms Command (SAC) Alert and Weapons Storage Areas Historic District at Blytheville in Mississippi County

* Sherman Mound in Mississippi County.

The board will also consider Edwards Chapel at Russellville in Pope County, Lafayette School Gymnasium at Camden in Ouachita County, Lake June at Stamps in Lafayette County and Captain Daniel Matthews House at Osceola in Mississippi County for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically significant properties that do not meet National Register requirements.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880, send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Downtown Revitalization Grants Main Street Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas religious history Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas History Huntsville Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Monsanto Chemical Corporation Conway County Library Arkansas History Lesson Plans most endangered historic places News Release Real Estate Transfer Tax African American education Pope County Courthouse cemetery preservsation Cumberland Presbyterian Church historic Arkansas properties Ouachita County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Folk Victorian Architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society Dr. Ruth Hawkins Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 North Little Rock Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas free teacher resources Freedmen's Bureau Benton Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Huntsville Commercial Historic District Walks Through History Rustic Architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Main Street Dumas 13th Amendment Forrest City Cemetery Elias Camp Morris Prairie County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Business History Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Newton County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Freedom Park Free Courthouse Poster Renaissance Revival Architecture New Century Club of Camden Sandwiching in History Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Clarendon Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola free historic preservation workshop Arkansas African American Civil War History Bogg Springs Hotel Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Trail of Tears in Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Burdette Plantation Leake-Ingham Building Dionicio Rodriguez Kiblah School downtown economic development Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas Railroad History Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Fayetteville Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Russellville Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Ozark National Register of Historic Places Houston Arkansas Tolbert Gill Civilian Conservation Corps Main Street Siloam Springs Turner Restoration Polk County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Ozark Farming National Register of Historic downtown revitalization Monroe County Arkansas White County Courthouse Perry County Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Design Network Erbie Arkansas Flood Control Barney Elias House Mississippi Main Street Association Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Humanities Council Booneville Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Historic Preservation American Legion Let Freedom Ring historic architecture historic telephone booth Miller County Main Street Texarkana Pulaski County Courthouse Civil Works Administration Mid-Century Modern Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Searcy Mississippi County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Edgar Monsanto Queeny Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Skillern House Delta Cultural Center Centennial Baptist Church Montgomery County Courthouse International-Style Architecture Art Deco Architecture Pike County Courthouse Little Rock Central High School Doddridge Arkansas Roe Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Camden Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Main Street Batesville Craftsman style architecture Historic Preservation Alliance Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Camden Public Library Buffalo National River Rosenwald Schools Pike County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery historic resort communities Camden to Washington Road 19th Century Road Construction Helena Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Three States Lumber Company Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Paris Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Duck Hunting Wingmead Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Poinsett County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Gothic Revival architecture steel window restoration workshop cemetery preservation Madison County Arkansas free history tours slipcover removal grants Nevada County Arkansas Sunken Lands