14 Properties to be Considered for National Register Nomination

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, March 22, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider 14 Arkansas properties in nine counties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places when it meets at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, April 5, at the Department of Arkansas Heritage Building at 1100 North Street in Little Rock.

Properties to be considered for National Register nomination are:

* Lake Nixon, Gay Oil Company Building and Martin Cemetery, Historic Section at Little Rock in Pulaski County

* Hot Springs National Guard Armory at Hot Springs in Garland County

* Batesville Commercial Historic District Expansion at Batesville in Independence County

* McLean Hall at Clarksville in Johnson County

* Home Ice Company at Jonesboro in Craighead County

* Leslie Commercial Historic District at Leslie in Searcy County

* Rumph Mortuary, Barton Library and Henley-Riley Historic District at El Dorado in Union County

* Bethel Cemetery near Crossett in Ashley County

* Vernon Fitzhugh House and Warren Seagraves House at Fayetteville in Washington County.

The board will also consider Superior Savings and Loan at Fort Smith in Sebastian County, Scott Cemetery near Walnut Ridge in Lawrence County and Ritter House at Jonesboro in Craighead County for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically significant properties that do not meet National Register requirements.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Newton County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library National Register of Historic Places U.S. Forest Service Main Street Arkansas Benton Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Free Lesson Plan Freedom Park free teacher resources Delta Cultural Center Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Booneville Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Roe Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Ouachita County Arkansas White County Courthouse Paris Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Renaissance Revival Architecture historic architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Monsanto Chemical Corporation Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Civil Works Administration steel window restoration workshop historic telephone booth Abolition of Slavery Huntsville Arkansas Miller County Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Three States Lumber Company Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas Preservation Awards free historic preservation workshop Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery African American education Rosenwald Schools Buffalo National River Historic Preservation Restoration Grants New Century Club of Camden Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas free history tours Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Doddridge Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Elias Camp Morris News Release downtown revitalization Real Estate Transfer Tax Craftsman style architecture downtown economic development historic resort communities Main Street Texarkana Ozark Farming Arkansas History Dionicio Rodriguez Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas religious history Centennial Baptist Church Rustic Architecture North Little Rock Arkansas Skillern House Rosston Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Pope County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants County courthouse Restoration Grants Conway County Library Tolbert Gill Fayetteville Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Phillips County Arkansas Kiblah School U.S. Army Corps of Engineers St. Francis County Historical Society Camden Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference 13th Amendment Helena Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Houston Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Forrest City Cemetery Burdette Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Pike County Courthouse Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Railroad History Morrilton Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Barney Elias House Saline County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Poinsett County Arkansas Main Street Searcy National Register of Historic Huntsville Commercial Historic District Nevada County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Perry County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Tudor Revival Architecture Civilian Conservation Corps Sunken Lands Arkansas Register of Historic Places National Historic Landmark 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Duck Hunting Camden to Washington Road Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Business History Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Clarendon Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Wingmead Let Freedom Ring most endangered historic places Gothic Revival architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society Main Street Siloam Springs Mid-Century Modern Architecture Henry Koen Office Building Art Deco Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance Cumberland Presbyterian Church Sandwiching in History Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House 19th Century Road Construction Madison County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Montgomery County Arkansas Main Street Dumas American Legion cemetery preservsation cemetery preservation Walks Through History Naturalistic Architecture Mississippi County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Turner Restoration Louisiana Main Street program Camden Public Library Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Burdette Plantation Bogg Springs Arkansas Pike County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Bogg Springs Hotel Main Street Batesville "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Humanities Council Flood Control Little Rock Central High School Prairie County Arkansas Main Street Ozark