16 Arkansas Properties to be Considered for Listing on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, March 18, 2015

LITTLE ROCK—The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider 16 Arkansas properties in nine counties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places when it meets at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, April 1, in Room 170 at 323 Center Street in Little Rock, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Properties to be considered for National Register nomination are:

* Esso Standard Oil Service Station at Little Rock in Pulaski County
* Kocourek and Son Hardware at Hazen in Prairie County
* First Lutheran Church at Hot Springs in Garland County
* West Church Street Historic District and Moose Addition Neighborhood Boundary Increase at Morrilton in Conway County
* Dr. John Grace House and Hospital at Belleville in Yell County
* Tyronza Methodist Episcopal Church South at Tyronza in Poinsett County
* Vest Cemetery near Boswell in Izard County
* Fayetteville Fire Department Fire Station #1, Fayetteville Fire Department Fire Station #3, David and Mary Margaret Durst House at Fayetteville in Washington County
* Billings-Cole House at Malvern in Hot Spring County
* Prairie Grove Airlight Outdoor Telephone Booth and Prairie Grove Cemetery, Historic Section, at Prairie Grove in Washington County
* Wilson High School Gymnasium and Wilson Community Club House at Wilson in Mississippi County.  

The board also will consider the Old Kia Kima Camp at Cherokee Village in Sharp County for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically noteworthy places that are not eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. 

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Main Street Ozark Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Searcy Three States Lumber Company Art Deco Architecture Tudor Revival Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax Huntsville Commercial Historic District Rosenwald Schools Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Sunken Lands free teacher resources free history tours New Century Club of Camden Pulaski County Courthouse Mosaic Templars Cultural Center U.S. Forest Service National Historic Landmark Ouachita County Arkansas American Legion Main Street Dumas National Register of Historic Cemetery Preservation Library Duck Hunting North Little Rock Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Folk Victorian Architecture Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas Historic Preservation Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Erbie Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Elias Camp Morris Camden Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Little Rock Central High School historic telephone booth Leake-Ingham Building Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas African American Civil War History Houston Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Conway County Library Edgar Monsanto Queeny Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Business History 13th Amendment Polk County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Barney Elias House White County Courthouse Poinsett County Arkansas historic architecture News Release Morrilton Arkansas historic resort communities Main Street Siloam Springs Monroe County Courthouse Helena Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Craftsman style architecture Newton County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Civil Works Administration Paris Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Abolition of Slavery Let Freedom Ring Main Street Batesville Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Camden to Washington Road Mid-Century Modern Architecture Doddridge Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau downtown revitalization cemetery preservsation Camden Public Library free historic preservation workshop Free Lesson Plan Monsanto Chemical Corporation Delta Cultural Center Bogg Springs Hotel Civilian Conservation Corps Turner Restoration Sandwiching in History African American education County courthouse Restoration Grants Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Burdette Plantation Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Buffalo National River Trail of Tears in Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Miller County Arkansas Railroad History Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Rustic Architecture historic Arkansas properties slipcover removal grants 19th Century Road Construction Centennial Baptist Church cemetery preservation most endangered historic places downtown economic development Pope County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Skillern House Main Street Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Booneville Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Roe Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Historic Preservation Alliance Wingmead Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Benton Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Henry Koen Office Building Downtown Revitalization Grants National Register of Historic Places Marked Tree Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Forrest City Arkansas Ozark Farming Dr. Ruth Hawkins Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas religious history Flood Control Tolbert Gill Rosston Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Freedom Park Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Evelyn Gill Walker House Russellville Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Humanities Council Madison County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Bogg Springs Arkansas Walks Through History Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax International-Style Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Renaissance Revival Architecture Clarendon Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Mississippi Main Street Association Monroe County Arkansas Arkansas History steel window restoration workshop Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Texarkana Phillips County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Kiblah School Dionicio Rodriguez Burdette Arkansas