16 Arkansas Properties to be Considered for National Register

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, March 18, 2015

 LITTLE ROCK—The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider 16 Arkansas properties in nine counties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places when it meets at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, April 1, in Room 170 at 323 Center Street in Little Rock, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Properties to be considered for National Register nomination are:

* Esso Standard Oil Service Station at Little Rock in Pulaski County

* Kocourek and Son Hardware at Hazen in Prairie County

* First Lutheran Church at Hot Springs in Garland County

* West Church Street Historic District and Moose Addition Neighborhood Boundary Increase at Morrilton in Conway County

* Dr. John Grace House and Hospital at Belleville in Yell County

* Tyronza Methodist Episcopal Church South at Tyronza in Poinsett County

* Vest Cemetery near Boswell in Izard County

* Fayetteville Fire Department Fire Station #1, Fayetteville Fire Department Fire Station #3, David and Mary Margaret Durst House at Fayetteville in Washington County

* Billings-Cole House at Malvern in Hot Spring County

* Prairie Grove Airlight Outdoor Telephone Booth and Prairie Grove Cemetery, Historic Section, at Prairie Grove in Washington County

* Wilson High School Gymnasium and Wilson Community Club House at Wilson in Mississippi County.

The board also will consider the Old Kia Kima Camp at Cherokee Village in Sharp County for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically noteworthy places that are not eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places.

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Freedmen's Bureau 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Rosston Arkansas New Century Club of Camden cemetery preservation Ozark Farming Barney Elias House Houston Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Elias Camp Morris County courthouse Restoration Grants Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Pike County Courthouse Civilian Conservation Corps Buffalo National River Rosenwald Schools historic telephone booth Main Street Dumas Monroe County Courthouse Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Doddridge Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Design Network Cumberland Presbyterian Church Little Rock Central High School Perry County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Cemetery Preservation Library Marked Tree Arkansas Duck Hunting cemetery preservsation Roe Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road most endangered historic places Renaissance Revival Architecture Huntsville Commercial Historic District Bogg Springs Hotel Dionicio Rodriguez Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Forrest City Cemetery Leake-Ingham Building 13th Amendment Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Dr. Ruth Hawkins Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Business History Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Pope County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Pulaski County Courthouse Three States Lumber Company slipcover removal grants Mid-Century Modern Architecture Main Street Searcy Nevada County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Wingmead Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Historic Preservation Alliance Russellville Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Morrilton Arkansas Rustic Architecture Main Street Texarkana White County Courthouse Paris Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Henry Koen Office Building Monroe County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Centennial Baptist Church Sunken Lands Historic County Courthouses Folk Victorian Architecture National Register of Historic steel window restoration workshop Clarendon Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Batesville International-Style Architecture Saline County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Railroad History Main Street Ozark Let Freedom Ring Main Street Siloam Springs 19th Century Road Construction Mississippi County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons North Little Rock Arkansas Pike County Arkansas historic architecture Conway County Library Mississippi Main Street Association Downtown Revitalization Grants Kiblah School Flood Control Trail of Tears in Arkansas Tolbert Gill Booneville Historical Preservation Society Main Street Arkansas Walks Through History Edgar Monsanto Queeny Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Sandwiching in History Skillern House Ouachita County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas National Historic Landmark Miller County Arkansas religious history Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas African American Civil War History free history tours African American education Montgomery County Courthouse Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Turner Restoration Freedom Park Craftsman style architecture Benton Arkansas Civil Works Administration Huntsville Arkansas free teacher resources free historic preservation workshop Forrest City Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas State University Heritage Sites downtown economic development Phillips County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Booneville Arkansas Burdette Arkansas downtown revitalization Camden Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Abolition of Slavery American Legion Camden Public Library Burdette Plantation U.S. Forest Service News Release Real Estate Transfer Tax Art Deco Architecture historic Arkansas properties Arkansas History Lesson Plans Helena Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Delta Cultural Center St. Francis County Historical Society historic resort communities Arkansas History