1960 B-47 Crash Over Little Rock Neighborhoods

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Lecture to Present Paper about 1960 B-47 Crash Over Little Rock Neighborhoods
LITTLE ROCK—Historian Travis Ratermann will present his award winning paper "A Living Hell: The Story of a B-47 Crash that Devastated Little Rock Neighborhoods" on Sept. 8 at 2 p.m. at the Darragh Center located at the main branch of the Central Arkansas Library Systems at 100 Rock Street, Little Rock, AR 72201. The free event is hosted by the Pulaski County Historical Society.
Ratermann’s paper details the historic story of a B-47, assigned to the Little Rock Air Force Base, that was torn apart over Little Rock on March 31, 1960. The debris field from this deadly incident stretched from Allsopp Park to what is now Arkansas Children’s Hospital. Ratermann will discuss the effect of the accident on both the community and the air force personnel involved. All but one crew member perished as did two civilians on the ground.
Ratermann is the Survey Historian for the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, part of Arkansas Heritage, and a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage, and Tourism. He has a B.S. in Historic Preservation from Southeast Missouri State University and a M.S. in Historic Preservation from Ball State University. His main focus is on documenting Arkansas’s current and former military installation including: Fort Chaffee, Pine Bluff Arsenal, Blytheville Air Force Base and former Shumaker Naval Ammunition Depot.
The AHPP is the Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Historic Preservation Alliance Mosaic Templars Cultural Center U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Leake-Ingham Building Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Helena Arkansas Conway County Library Russellville Arkansas Camden Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Rustic Architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Main Street Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Booneville Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Bogg Springs Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Huntsville Arkansas steel window restoration workshop National Historic Landmark Free Lesson Plan Monroe County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Freedom Park Freedmen's Bureau American Legion Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas History Three States Lumber Company Arkansas Preservation Awards Main Street Searcy Elias Camp Morris cemetery preservation Duck Hunting Huntsville Commercial Historic District Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Ozark Real Estate Transfer Tax Mid-Century Modern Architecture Roe Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Marked Tree Arkansas Craftsman style architecture "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Forrest City Arkansas Historic County Courthouses 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Benton Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Design Network Erbie Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Main Street Dumas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Polk County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Free Courthouse Poster St. Francis County Historical Society National Register of Historic Renaissance Revival Architecture Dionicio Rodriguez Barney Elias House Centennial Baptist Church National Register of Historic Places Rosenwald Schools Paris Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District historic resort communities Evelyn Gill Walker House Fayetteville Arkansas downtown revitalization Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Poinsett County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Walks Through History historic architecture Folk Victorian Architecture Ozark Farming Montgomery County Courthouse Tudor Revival Architecture Abolition of Slavery historic Arkansas properties Newton County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas religious history Monroe County Courthouse 13th Amendment Camden Public Library Dr. Ruth Hawkins Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Nevada County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building slipcover removal grants Sandwiching in History Pulaski County Courthouse Cemetery Preservation Library Little Rock Central High School Main Street Siloam Springs Pope County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House most endangered historic places Main Street Batesville Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission 19th Century Road Construction News Release Ouachita County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Turner Restoration White County Courthouse Pope County Courthouse Let Freedom Ring Sunken Lands Burdette Plantation historic telephone booth Tolbert Gill Louisiana Main Street program New Century Club of Camden Arkansas Business History Saline County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Bogg Springs Hotel Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Phillips County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Camden to Washington Road free history tours International-Style Architecture Morrilton Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture African American education Flood Control Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Cumberland Presbyterian Church free teacher resources Houston Arkansas cemetery preservsation Marked Tree Lock and Siphons downtown economic development Mississippi County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Delta Cultural Center Pike County Courthouse Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Register of Historic Places Civilian Conservation Corps Downtown Revitalization Grants Skillern House Burdette Arkansas Miller County Buffalo National River free historic preservation workshop Booneville Historical Preservation Society Madison County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Prairie County Arkansas Wingmead North Little Rock Arkansas Kiblah School Civil Works Administration