2018 Historic Film Prize Competition for Students Now Open

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, January 25, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is accepting entries for the 2018 Arkansas Historic Places Film Prize, a contest for Arkansas high school students producing short films about historic properties in the state.

The Arkansas Historic Places Film Prize is sponsored by the AHPP and the Arkansas Humanities Council in partnership with the Arkansas Educational Television Network’s “Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase.” The documentaries must be from five to 15 minutes long and can be based on any historic Arkansas properties that are at least 50 years old. The deadline for submissions is March 30, 2018, and instructions for entering the competition can be found at

Winners of the competition will be shown at the Ron Robinson Theater in Little Rock on May 15, 2018, and winning filmmakers will receive cash prizes. Details are available at

For more information, contact AHPP Education Outreach Coordinator Amy Milliken at (501) 324-9786 or [email protected]. For any questions about AETN Student Selects please contact Casey Sanders at (501) 682-4190 or [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Abolition of Slavery Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Folk Victorian Architecture Ozark Farming Pope County Courthouse News Release Arkansas religious history Camden Arkansas Sunken Lands White County Courthouse Arkansas Register of Historic Places Central High School Neighborhood Historic District County courthouse Restoration Grants Main Street Dumas Historic Preservation Alliance Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas African American Civil War History Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Marked Tree Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Main Street Siloam Springs Paris Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Booneville Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Miller County Free Lesson Plan Pope County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association free historic preservation workshop Freedom Park Russellville Arkansas Houston Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Little Rock Central High School Barney Elias House Helena Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Elias Camp Morris Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Phillips County Arkansas Duck Hunting Evelyn Gill Walker House Civilian Conservation Corps Destination Downtown Conference free teacher resources Arkansas Business History American Legion Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Texarkana Rustic Architecture slipcover removal grants Kiblah School Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Monroe County Courthouse Perry County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Arkansas Historic Preservation International-Style Architecture Erbie Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Walks Through History Pike County Courthouse Gothic Revival architecture Bogg Springs Hotel Monroe County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Tolbert Gill Huntsville Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas National Register of Historic Places "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Renaissance Revival Architecture Let Freedom Ring Tudor Revival Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation historic telephone booth Free Courthouse Poster North Little Rock Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins most endangered historic places Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Booneville Historical Preservation Society downtown revitalization Sandwiching in History Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Art Deco Architecture Centennial Baptist Church Camden Public Library National Register of Historic steel window restoration workshop Clarendon Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Nevada County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Main Street Ozark Three States Lumber Company Mississippi County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Cemetery Preservation Library historic resort communities Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas Humanities Council Conway County Library Real Estate Transfer Tax Freedmen's Bureau Dionicio Rodriguez free history tours Roe Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Skillern House Monsanto Chemical Corporation Wingmead Main Street Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Montgomery County Courthouse Forrest City Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Flood Control Louisiana Main Street program African American education Main Street Searcy Leake-Ingham Building U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Newton County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas History Saline County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Benton Arkansas Civil Works Administration Huntsville Commercial Historic District historic architecture Madison County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District National Historic Landmark cemetery preservation downtown economic development Rosston Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Buffalo National River Burdette Plantation Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Turner Restoration Arkansas Railroad History Main Street Batesville Arkansas History Lesson Plans St. Francis County Historical Society 13th Amendment Pulaski County Courthouse Burdette Arkansas