2018 Historic Places Film Prize Winners Announced

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, May 11, 2018

Students from Jonesboro, Hot Springs and Fayetteville were the top winners in the fourth annual Arkansas Historic Places Film Prize competition of short documentaries focusing on historic properties throughout the state.

Carolyn Seglem of Jonesboro High School was the grand prize winner for her documentary “Rush Historic District.” The film, along with other prize-winning works, will be shown at 6 p.m. on Tuesday, May 15, at the Ron Robinson Theater at 100 River Market Avenue in Little Rock as part of “A Young Filmmakers Showcase,” which will also feature winners of AETN’s Student Selects competition and winners of Thea Foundation scholarships. The free event is open to the public.

Other Arkansas Historic Places Film Prize winners were:

* First Prize – Chase Hartsell of Lakeside High School in Hot Springs for “Where The Best Milk Grows”

* Second Prize – Ian Linn, Noah Chacon, Collin Schultz and Jordan Giacalone of Fayetteville High School for “Berry on the Square”

* Third Prize – Bella Warner, Obediah Kimmel, Harrison Bradford, Owen Hicks and Luis Ayala of Fayetteville High School for “Wired to the Past: A Vision into the Future”

* Fourth Prize – Anna Wiener of Jonesboro High School for “David O. Dodd”

* Honorable Mention went to Logan Bailey of the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts for “Ghosts of Greenwood: Memories of Greenwood Elementary” and Avery Barnett of Jonesboro High School for “Little Rock YMCA.”

The Arkansas Historic Film Prize is sponsored by the AHPP and the Arkansas Humanities Council in partnership with the Arkansas Educational Television Network’s “Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase.”

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Booneville Historical Preservation Society Duck Hunting Walks Through History Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Business History Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Perry County Arkansas Buffalo National River Prairie County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Madison County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Craftsman style architecture Doddridge Arkansas Main Street Searcy free history tours Erbie Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Marked Tree Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants historic architecture Phillips County Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Three States Lumber Company cemetery preservsation Miller County Pope County Arkansas downtown revitalization Tudor Revival Architecture Conway County Library Montgomery County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Flood Control St. Francis County Historical Society slipcover removal grants Sunken Lands Dr. Ruth Hawkins Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Pulaski County Courthouse New Century Club of Camden Arkansas African American Civil War History Historic County Courthouses Russellville Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse News Release Monroe County Courthouse Skillern House Booneville Arkansas Civil Works Administration Elias Camp Morris Ouachita County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Helena Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Ozark Farming Roe Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture most endangered historic places 13th Amendment Sandwiching in History Paris Arkansas Main Street Dumas Pike County Arkansas Arkansas History Barney Elias House Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Leake-Ingham Building Edgar Monsanto Queeny historic resort communities Dionicio Rodriguez Mississippi Main Street Association Camden Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Railroad History "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Historic Preservation Program U.S. Forest Service Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Mississippi County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Houston Arkansas Art Deco Architecture National Register of Historic Places Rustic Architecture Little Rock Central High School North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas religious history Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Louisiana Main Street program Tolbert Gill Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Main Street Siloam Springs Main Street Texarkana Rosston Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building International-Style Architecture Folk Victorian Architecture Main Street Batesville Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District African American education Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Clarendon Arkansas Camden Public Library Camden to Washington Road Pope County Courthouse Huntsville Arkansas cemetery preservation Real Estate Transfer Tax County courthouse Restoration Grants Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Fayetteville Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Evelyn Gill Walker House Turner Restoration Arkansas Register of Historic Places 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 19th Century Road Construction Morrilton Arkansas Saline County Arkansas White County Courthouse Bogg Springs Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Destination Downtown Conference Freedmen's Bureau Kiblah School Centennial Baptist Church Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Freedom Park Delta Cultural Center Montgomery County Courthouse Abolition of Slavery historic telephone booth Forrest City Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Bogg Springs Hotel Poinsett County Arkansas National Historic Landmark free teacher resources downtown economic development Monsanto Chemical Corporation American Legion Main Street Ozark Main Street Arkansas Benton Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Rosenwald Schools Wingmead historic Arkansas properties National Register of Historic Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Historic Preservation Cemetery Preservation Library Burdette Plantation Nevada County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Mid-Century Modern Architecture