ADN Panel to Discuss Central High School Neighborhood

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, January 12, 2015

The Architecture and Design Network will present “Then and Now: the Central High School Neighborhood” at 6 p.m. Tuesday, January 13, at the Arkansas Arts Center lecture hall in Little Rock. The panel presentation will be preceded by a reception at 5:30 p.m. The panel will consist of a Rachel Silva, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program; Kwendeche, architect; Nancy Rousseau, principal, Central High School; and Vanessa McKuin, president, Central High Neighborhood Association.

The westward expansion of Little Rock in the mid-1890s gave rise to the West End, a section of the city which became known as the Central High School neighborhood, taking its name from the school which, at the time of its completion in 1927, was designated by the American Institute of Architects as “the most beautiful high school in America.” The largest, most expensive school ever built in the United States, it is, perhaps, best known as the site of the 1957 desegregation crisis. The structure, designated by the National Park Service as a National Historic Landmark, currently draws students from many parts of the city.

The school, which has a current enrollment of 2,419 students, is surrounded by a mix of homes and structures, built over the years in a variety of shapes, sizes and styles. In addition to discussing the history and development of the area, the panel will talk about imminent threats to the neighborhood’s historic properties and what is being done or needs to be done to save them. A trio of neighborhood groups is actively involved in that effort. The three are the Wright Avenue Neighborhood Association, the Capitol Hill Neighborhood Association and the Central High Neighborhood Association.

Recent Posts


Huntsville Commercial Historic District Arkansas Register of Historic Places most endangered historic places slipcover removal grants Mid-Century Modern Architecture steel window restoration workshop Louisiana Main Street program "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Centennial Baptist Church Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Design Network Delta Cultural Center New Century Club of Camden Flood Control downtown economic development Mississippi County Arkansas Tolbert Gill National Historic Landmark Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Sandwiching in History Pulaski County Courthouse Art Deco Architecture Main Street Dumas Skillern House National Register of Historic Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Booneville Historical Preservation Society Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Mississippi Main Street Association Bogg Springs Hotel historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Preservation Awards free historic preservation workshop 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Civilian Conservation Corps Elias Camp Morris Burdette Plantation African American education Walks Through History Wingmead Helena Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Civil Works Administration Kiblah School National Register of Historic Places Buffalo National River Dr. Ruth Hawkins Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Camden Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Ozark Farming News Release Montgomery County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas History Lesson Plans Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Trail of Tears in Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Henry Koen Office Building Marked Tree Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Folk Victorian Architecture Pope County Courthouse Sunken Lands Rustic Architecture Polk County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Rosston Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Conway County Library cemetery preservsation Nevada County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Turner Restoration Main Street Ozark Arkansas History Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas Humanities Council Paris Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas African American Civil War History Forrest City Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons White County Courthouse Clarendon Arkansas Pike County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Camden to Washington Road Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South free teacher resources Historic Preservation Alliance Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Business History Madison County Arkansas historic telephone booth Ouachita County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Camden Public Library Three States Lumber Company Houston Arkansas free history tours American Legion Burdette Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Monroe County Courthouse Russellville Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission downtown revitalization Forrest City Cemetery Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Real Estate Transfer Tax Pike County Courthouse Prairie County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Main Street Searcy Huntsville Arkansas Saline County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Let Freedom Ring North Little Rock Arkansas Main Street Batesville St. Francis County Historical Society Edgar Monsanto Queeny historic architecture 13th Amendment Barney Elias House Duck Hunting Benton Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Booneville Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Freedom Park Monsanto Chemical Corporation Free Courthouse Poster Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Naturalistic Architecture Fayetteville Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church cemetery preservation Perry County Arkansas Arkansas religious history historic resort communities Renaissance Revival Architecture Historic County Courthouses 19th Century Road Construction Doddridge Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District County courthouse Restoration Grants Montgomery County Courthouse Little Rock Central High School Morrilton Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Miller County