AHPP Announces 26th Annual Art, Essay Invitational

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, January 11, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Fifth-, sixth-, seventh- and eighth-grade students throughout Arkansas are invited to participate in the 26th annual “Preserve Our Past” art and essay invitational sponsored by the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Students in two categories, one for fifth- and sixth-grade students and one for seventh- and eighth-grade students, can enter an artwork or essay based on a historic Arkansas property that is at least 50 years old, focusing on how those properties reflect Arkansas history or why it is important to preserve the state’s historic places. All entries must be postmarked by April 1, 2017.

First-, second- and third-place winners in each category will receive a trophy and winners in the art division will have their artwork framed, while those awarded honorable mention will receive ribbons. All students who enter will receive a certificate. Winning entries will be displayed at the Historic Arkansas Museum in Little Rock throughout May, which is Arkansas Heritage Month.

For more information or an entry form, write AHPP Art and Essay Invitational, AHPP, 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call (501)324-9786, send an e-mail inquiry to [email protected], or download the form at

Please include your name and mailing address on any phone or e-mail messages.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Russellville Arkansas downtown economic development Helena Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Craftsman style architecture 13th Amendment Sandwiching in History Saline County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Marked Tree Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Prairie County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Naturalistic Architecture Gothic Revival architecture Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Art Deco Architecture Newton County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Cemetery Preservation Library most endangered historic places Downtown Revitalization Grants Mississippi Main Street Association Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Let Freedom Ring cemetery preservsation Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Ozark Farming Buffalo National River Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Folk Victorian Architecture Clarendon Arkansas Conway County Library Main Street Texarkana Main Street Searcy Houston Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Preservation Awards Skillern House Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Polk County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Tolbert Gill Arkansas History Camden Public Library Monsanto Chemical Corporation American Legion historic telephone booth Arkansas religious history Main Street Siloam Springs Abolition of Slavery Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Benton Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 News Release Mid-Century Modern Architecture Freedom Park Louisiana Main Street program Main Street Ozark Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council free historic preservation workshop Sunken Lands Free Lesson Plan Tudor Revival Architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Nevada County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Ouachita County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Camden to Washington Road North Little Rock Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Roe Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Perry County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Renaissance Revival Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse 19th Century Road Construction Montgomery County Courthouse Booneville Historical Preservation Society County courthouse Restoration Grants Civilian Conservation Corps Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation White County Courthouse Destination Downtown Conference free history tours Fayetteville Arkansas Civil Works Administration Morrilton Arkansas downtown revitalization Arkansas Humanities Council Wingmead Paris Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Duck Hunting 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Dr. Ruth Hawkins Turner Restoration Arkansas Business History Burdette Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Barney Elias House Bogg Springs Arkansas Historic County Courthouses slipcover removal grants Forrest City Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Little Rock Central High School Pike County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Main Street Batesville Real Estate Transfer Tax African American education free teacher resources Madison County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Marked Tree Lock and Siphons U.S. Army Corps of Engineers National Register of Historic Walks Through History U.S. Forest Service Huntsville Commercial Historic District Rosston Arkansas Flood Control Rosenwald Schools Monroe County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Delta Cultural Center Arkansas African American Civil War History Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Free Courthouse Poster National Historic Landmark Three States Lumber Company Bogg Springs Hotel Huntsville Arkansas Burdette Plantation historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum St. Francis County Historical Society International-Style Architecture Camden Arkansas Pope County Courthouse historic resort communities Dionicio Rodriguez cemetery preservation historic architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Kiblah School Arkansas Railroad History Doddridge Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Leake-Ingham Building Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Phillips County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Rustic Architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Miller County