AHPP Awards Certified Local Government Grants

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, May 22, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Governor Asa Hutchinson announced today that the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, has awarded $60,230 in grants for projects in nine cities through its Certified Local Government (CLG) Grant program.

CLG grants were awarded to the following cities:

* Conway, $2,500 for a National Register of Historic Places nomination for the College Avenue Historic District

* El Dorado, $8,532 for preservation consultant services, staff and commission training, memberships and to reprint a walking tour brochure

* Eureka Springs, $17,095 for restoration of the city’s doughboy statue’s base, a statewide historic district commissioner training, staff and commission training, and a new walking tour map

* Fayetteville, $14,291 for a National Register nomination of the Meadow Street Historic District, a historic structures database and Story Map website, and staff and commission training

* Fort Smith, $744 for staff and commission training

* Helena-West Helena, $5,750 for preservation consultant services, staff and commission training and supplies

* Pine Bluff, $8,500 for a structural assessment mini-grant program, Saenger Theater restoration work and staff and commission training

* Texarkana, $1,378 for staff and commission training

* Van Buren, $1,440 for staff and commission training.

The AHPP’s Certified Local Government Grant program is open to Arkansas cities and counties that contain a historic district commission and a historic district protected by a local ordinance. These grants provide training opportunities to local historic district commissions and can fund other local preservation projects. At least 10 percent of the AHPP’s annual appropriation from the federal Historic Preservation Fund goes to CLG cities as grants for local projects. Grant requests totaled $123,051.

There currently are 20 Arkansas cities in the CLG program: Little Rock, North Little Rock, Fort Smith, Van Buren, Hot Springs, Eureka Springs, Helena-West Helena, Conway, Pine Bluff, Morrilton, Texarkana, Rogers, Russellville, El Dorado, Fayetteville, Batesville, Benton, Dumas, Osceola and Blytheville. Several others are working to become part of the CLG program.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Erbie Arkansas Perry County Arkansas News Release 19th Century Road Construction free teacher resources Paris Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Let Freedom Ring Main Street Texarkana slipcover removal grants Destination Downtown Conference Rosston Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Sandwiching in History Civil Works Administration Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Historic Preservation 13th Amendment Mississippi County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Ozark Farming American Legion Craftsman style architecture historic architecture Pope County Courthouse Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Montgomery County Courthouse Fayetteville Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Marked Tree Lock and Siphons International-Style Architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Elias Camp Morris Booneville Arkansas Barney Elias House Camden to Washington Road Historic County Courthouses Arkansas African American Civil War History Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Camden Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Buffalo National River Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas Business History Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Ozark Walks Through History National Register of Historic Places downtown economic development Benton Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans Morrilton Arkansas Burdette Plantation Main Street Batesville most endangered historic places Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Real Estate Transfer Tax Sunken Lands Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Searcy Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Preservation Awards Clarendon Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Abolition of Slavery Mississippi Main Street Association historic telephone booth Dr. Ruth Hawkins Roe Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Main Street Siloam Springs Camden Public Library Wingmead Art Deco Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Booneville Historical Preservation Society Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Rustic Architecture St. Francis County Historical Society Kiblah School Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Monroe County Courthouse Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Leake-Ingham Building Freedom Park Forrest City Cemetery Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Rosenwald Schools Arkansas Register of Historic Places Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Design Network Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House U.S. Forest Service Skillern House Free Lesson Plan historic Arkansas properties Monsanto Chemical Corporation historic resort communities County courthouse Restoration Grants Louisiana Main Street program African American education Doddridge Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Flood Control Madison County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut National Register of Historic downtown revitalization Renaissance Revival Architecture Tudor Revival Architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Free Courthouse Poster New Century Club of Camden Three States Lumber Company Ouachita County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Polk County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Centennial Baptist Church Newton County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Nevada County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas religious history Saline County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas National Historic Landmark Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District White County Courthouse Arkansas Humanities Council Pike County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Civilian Conservation Corps Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Duck Hunting Tolbert Gill Cemetery Preservation Library Phillips County Arkansas cemetery preservsation "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants free history tours Miller County Forrest City Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Turner Restoration North Little Rock Arkansas Delta Cultural Center steel window restoration workshop Conway County Library Houston Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Main Street Arkansas Main Street Dumas Monroe County Arkansas cemetery preservation