AHPP Awards Certified Local Government Grants

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, July 20, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Governor Asa Hutchinson announced today that the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, has awarded $44,069 in grants for projects in three cities through its Certified Local Government (CLG) Grant program.

CLG grants were awarded to the following cities:

* Dumas, $23,469 for a roof restoration and gutters at the Dumas Area Arts Center Building in the Dumas Commercial Historic District

* El Dorado, $13,500 for a National Register of Historic Places nomination for the Goodwin Field Terminal Building

* Eureka Springs, $7,100 for a National Register nomination for the Eureka Springs Cemetery.

The AHPP’s Certified Local Government Grant program is open to Arkansas cities and counties that contain a historic district commission and a historic district protected by a local ordinance. These grants provide training opportunities to local historic district commissions and can fund other local preservation projects. At least 10 percent of the AHPP’s annual appropriation from the federal Historic Preservation Fund goes to CLG cities as grants for local projects.

There currently are 20 Arkansas cities in the CLG program: Little Rock, North Little Rock, Fort Smith, Van Buren, Hot Springs, Eureka Springs, Helena-West Helena, Conway, Pine Bluff, Morrilton, Texarkana, Rogers, Russellville, El Dorado, Fayetteville, Batesville, Benton, Dumas, Osceola and Blytheville. Several others are working to become part of the CLG program.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Erbie Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Pike County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Dr. Ruth Hawkins Abolition of Slavery Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas African American Civil War History Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Art Deco Architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Conway County Library U.S. Forest Service Turner Restoration Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Ozark free history tours Burdette Plantation Poinsett County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana 19th Century Road Construction Forrest City Cemetery Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas White County Courthouse Monroe County Courthouse News Release Doddridge Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Marked Tree Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Business History American Legion cemetery preservation Clarendon Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas History Russellville Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Duck Hunting Pope County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Batesville National Register of Historic Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Delta Cultural Center downtown economic development Huntsville Arkansas National Historic Landmark Louisiana Main Street program most endangered historic places Ozark Farming Tolbert Gill 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation National Register of Historic Places Arkansas Design Network Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Rustic Architecture Polk County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Main Street Dumas Houston Arkansas African American education St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Railroad History Paris Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Folk Victorian Architecture Gothic Revival architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District free teacher resources Elias Camp Morris historic resort communities Fayetteville Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Humanities Council Skillern House Little Rock Central High School Centennial Baptist Church Helena Arkansas 13th Amendment Sunken Lands Sandwiching in History Arkansas Preservation Awards Evelyn Gill Walker House Camden to Washington Road Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot International-Style Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax Miller County Main Street Siloam Springs Pulaski County Courthouse Free Courthouse Poster Rosenwald Schools Monsanto Chemical Corporation downtown revitalization historic telephone booth Perry County Arkansas Camden Arkansas Main Street Searcy Huntsville Commercial Historic District Renaissance Revival Architecture Newton County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Phillips County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Edgar Monsanto Queeny steel window restoration workshop Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Burdette Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas religious history Henry Koen Office Building Flood Control Camden Public Library Saline County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Freedom Park free historic preservation workshop U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Roe Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops historic architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Civilian Conservation Corps Historic Preservation Alliance Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Barney Elias House Tudor Revival Architecture Rosston Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Kiblah School cemetery preservsation Wingmead Buffalo National River Destination Downtown Conference North Little Rock Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Walks Through History Benton Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Mid-Century Modern Architecture Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Madison County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Naturalistic Architecture Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Historic Preservation Mississippi Main Street Association Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Bogg Springs Hotel Cemetery Preservation Library Three States Lumber Company Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Civil Works Administration