AHPP Cemetery Lecture Set for Morrilton

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, March 23, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will present “Bringing It Back: Basic Cemetery Maintenance” for the River Valley Genealogical Society at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, April 9, at the Conway County Library at 101 South Church Street in Morrillton, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

AHPP Special Projects Historian Holly Hope will offer information on cleaning and documenting gravestones, as well as safety, repair and straightening techniques, materials and tools, and landscaping issues. She also will discuss listing cemeteries on the National Register of Historic Places during the free lecture.

For more information on the free lecture, contact Hope at (501) 324-9148 or [email protected], or Euna Beavers at (501) 354-4428.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


most endangered historic places Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas religious history U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Mississippi Main Street Association Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Arkansas Preservation Awards Monroe County Courthouse steel window restoration workshop Cemetery Preservation Library Free Courthouse Poster County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Evelyn Gill Walker House free history tours Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Art Deco Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Main Street Texarkana Historic County Courthouses Burdette Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Sandwiching in History Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Skillern House Naturalistic Architecture Saline County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants cemetery preservsation Rustic Architecture Nevada County Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Barney Elias House Booneville Historical Preservation Society Polk County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Destination Downtown Conference Tudor Revival Architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Sunken Lands Bogg Springs Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Morrilton Arkansas News Release Main Street Searcy downtown economic development Houston Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Downtown Revitalization Grants Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Forrest City Cemetery Forrest City Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Monroe County Arkansas Buffalo National River Elias Camp Morris Main Street Siloam Springs Main Street Ozark Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Business History Three States Lumber Company Ozark Farming Let Freedom Ring Centennial Baptist Church historic Arkansas properties Camden Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Huntsville Commercial Historic District Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Historic Preservation Alliance National Register of Historic Places downtown revitalization North Little Rock Arkansas Wingmead Bogg Springs Hotel slipcover removal grants Miller County historic resort communities Arkansas African American Civil War History U.S. Forest Service Craftsman style architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Free Lesson Plan Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Main Street Dumas Pope County Courthouse free teacher resources Civil Works Administration Walks Through History Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Renaissance Revival Architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Civilian Conservation Corps Clarendon Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Conway County Library Kiblah School Newton County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Little Rock Central High School Rosenwald Schools White County Courthouse Flood Control Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council 19th Century Road Construction Tolbert Gill Abolition of Slavery Helena Arkansas free historic preservation workshop historic architecture Mid-Century Modern Architecture New Century Club of Camden Doddridge Arkansas Turner Restoration African American education Russellville Arkansas International-Style Architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Duck Hunting Marked Tree Arkansas National Historic Landmark Camden Public Library Arkansas Design Network Booneville Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Edgar Monsanto Queeny Madison County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas National Register of Historic Pike County Courthouse Arkansas History Freedmen's Bureau Gothic Revival architecture Dr. Ruth Hawkins Freedom Park Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Humanities Council Roe Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South historic telephone booth Real Estate Transfer Tax Prairie County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants 13th Amendment Arkansas Historic Preservation cemetery preservation Rosston Arkansas Paris Arkansas Pike County Arkansas American Legion Montgomery County Courthouse