AHPP Film Prize Winners to be Shown on AETN

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, September 06, 2017

The Arkansas Educational Television Network will broadcast the winners of the 2017 Arkansas Historic Preservation Film Prize competition beginning at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, October 6, as part of AETN’s “Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase,” which will be shown in four segments on Fridays, September 8 through October 6.

Films to be featured Oct. 6 include:

* “Monte Ne,” by Fayetteville High School, winner of Arkansas Historic Places Film grand prize.

* “History of St. Joseph's Catholic Church,” by Springdale District Television, winner of Arkansas Historic Places Film first place prize.

* “German Prisoners of War in Arkansas,” by The Delta School (Wilson), winner of Arkansas Historic Places Film second place prize.

Broadcasts also include comedies, family dramas, personal documentaries and historical films, including films recognized with Thea Foundation Young Filmmaker Scholarships and Central High Desegregation 60th Anniversary Film Competition in addition to AHPP’s Historic Preservation Film Prizes.

Ninth through 12th grade students, including homeschooled students, competed for the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize, sponsored by the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, the Arkansas Humanities Council and the Central High National Historic Site.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving cultural resources.

Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site is committed to preserving and interpreting the story of the 1957 desegregation crisis at historic Central High School as it relates to the larger story of Civil Rights history in America.

The Arkansas Humanities Council seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present – that define the human condition.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network is Arkansas’s only statewide public media network, which enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers through the distinct channels AETN PBS, AETN Create, AETN PBS KIDS, AETN World and AETN AIRS on SAP. AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro) and KETZ (El Dorado).

Recent Posts


County courthouse Restoration Grants free history tours Monroe County Courthouse Ouachita County Arkansas National Register of Historic Free Courthouse Poster Roe Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Turner Restoration Miller County Bogg Springs Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Clarendon Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Buffalo National River Wingmead Bogg Springs Hotel Downtown Revitalization Grants Main Street Batesville Ozark Farming cemetery preservsation Civil Works Administration Flood Control Madison County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Design Network Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Tolbert Gill Free Lesson Plan slipcover removal grants Paris Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Forrest City Cemetery Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery 19th Century Road Construction Cemetery Preservation Library Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Tudor Revival Architecture Russellville Arkansas Skillern House Main Street Searcy Freedmen's Bureau "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Preservation Awards Marked Tree Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Dumas Arkansas African American Civil War History Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax downtown revitalization Houston Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Saline County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Sandwiching in History Renaissance Revival Architecture Perry County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse International-Style Architecture Art Deco Architecture Dr. Ruth Hawkins Central High School Neighborhood Historic District historic resort communities 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Trail of Tears in Arkansas National Historic Landmark steel window restoration workshop free teacher resources American Legion Conway County Library Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Prairie County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Main Street Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 historic telephone booth Arkansas Historic Preservation Real Estate Transfer Tax Monsanto Chemical Corporation African American education Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Booneville Arkansas Three States Lumber Company New Century Club of Camden Forrest City Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Kiblah School Louisiana Main Street program Delta Cultural Center Pike County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas cemetery preservation Arkansas Business History Rustic Architecture Abolition of Slavery Edgar Monsanto Queeny downtown economic development U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Railroad History Freedom Park most endangered historic places Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Register of Historic Places Historic County Courthouses Fayetteville Arkansas Main Street Ozark Booneville Historical Preservation Society Destination Downtown Conference Nevada County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Rosston Arkansas White County Courthouse Sunken Lands historic Arkansas properties Walks Through History Burdette Plantation Benton Arkansas Rosenwald Schools historic architecture Elias Camp Morris Camden Public Library Barney Elias House Craftsman style architecture Erbie Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Let Freedom Ring Helena Arkansas News Release Huntsville Commercial Historic District Camden Arkansas Duck Hunting Polk County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Montgomery County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas History Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas History Lesson Plans free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Civilian Conservation Corps National Register of Historic Places 13th Amendment U.S. Forest Service Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas religious history Poinsett County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Naturalistic Architecture