AHPP Historian to Present Hot Springs Lecture

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, February 09, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will present a program titled “Rest, Relaxation, and Rehabilitation: Military Style” to the Ouachita Chapter of the Arkansas Archeological Society at 7 p.m. Tuesday, February 14, at the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts at 200 Whittington Avenue in Hot Springs, AHPP Interim Director Marion Boyd announced today.

The free lecture by Survey Historian Travis Ratermann will discuss the history of the Army and Navy Hospital’s use of two sites near Hot Springs for recreational use of hospital staff and convalescents. The presentation is open to the public.

For more information on the free lecture, contact Sherri Bradbury at [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Pike County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Three States Lumber Company most endangered historic places historic architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House Free Lesson Plan White County Courthouse Poinsett County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas religious history Sunken Lands Erbie Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance cemetery preservation Main Street Batesville Naturalistic Architecture historic telephone booth Dionicio Rodriguez Turner Restoration Wingmead Montgomery County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program St. Francis County Historical Society Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Centennial Baptist Church Mosaic Templars Cultural Center free teacher resources Ozark Farming Arkansas History Lesson Plans County courthouse Restoration Grants Camden Arkansas cemetery preservsation Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Monroe County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Mid-Century Modern Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Freedom Park Mississippi Main Street Association Historic County Courthouses Helena Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Business History Newton County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Elias Camp Morris Dr. Ruth Hawkins Buffalo National River Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Monroe County Courthouse slipcover removal grants Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Design Network Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Craftsman style architecture Doddridge Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Huntsville Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture free historic preservation workshop Camden to Washington Road Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Art Deco Architecture Duck Hunting Sandwiching in History Booneville Arkansas Walks Through History Pope County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas History Flood Control American Legion Conway County Library Bogg Springs Hotel National Historic Landmark downtown revitalization historic Arkansas properties U.S. Forest Service Booneville Historical Preservation Society Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Leake-Ingham Building Civilian Conservation Corps Pulaski County Courthouse Houston Arkansas New Century Club of Camden free history tours Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Destination Downtown Conference Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas African American Civil War History National Register of Historic Free Courthouse Poster Morrilton Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Clarendon Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Forrest City Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Railroad History Miller County Main Street Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Delta Cultural Center Camden Public Library Rosenwald Schools Let Freedom Ring Paris Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Little Rock Central High School Civil Works Administration Nevada County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Huntsville Commercial Historic District Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Madison County Arkansas Kiblah School 19th Century Road Construction Trail of Tears in Arkansas historic resort communities 13th Amendment Rosston Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Rustic Architecture Main Street Dumas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola North Little Rock Arkansas Roe Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas News Release Skillern House Montgomery County Courthouse Tolbert Gill International-Style Architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Bogg Springs Arkansas Main Street Searcy Perry County Arkansas African American education Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District downtown economic development Barney Elias House Renaissance Revival Architecture Burdette Plantation Gothic Revival architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Register of Historic Places Main Street Ozark Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas Historic Preservation