AHPP Hosts Cemetery Preservation Lecture, Workshop in Jonesboro

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, March 28, 2017


LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will host a free cemetery preservation lecture and workshop in Jonesboro April 27-29.

The AHPP will host a free cemetery preservation lecture by conservator Jonathan Appell at 6 p.m. on Thursday, April 27, at the Earl Bell Community Center at 1212 South Church Street in Jonesboro.

Appell will lead a free cemetery conservation workshop from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Friday, April 28, and Saturday, April 29, at Jonesboro City Cemetery at Carson and Matthews streets. The workshop will focus on how to clean, re-set and repair tombstones, as well as instructions on cemetery maintenance, suitable cleaning products and proper techniques to use. Registration is limited to 40 people per workshop.

To register for the workshop, or for more information, contact Holly Hope at (501) 324-9880, write her at 1100 North St., Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to her at [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Texarkana Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District St. Francis County Historical Society Newton County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Elias Camp Morris Huntsville Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax slipcover removal grants Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Kiblah School Morrilton Arkansas African American education Monroe County Courthouse Erbie Arkansas Camden Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Naturalistic Architecture International-Style Architecture Flood Control Renaissance Revival Architecture cemetery preservation Henry Koen Office Building Art Deco Architecture Duck Hunting Booneville Historical Preservation Society Forrest City Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Helena Arkansas most endangered historic places Historic County Courthouses Marked Tree Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Benton Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Sandwiching in History Russellville Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Camden to Washington Road Main Street Ozark Arkansas religious history Arkansas Business History free historic preservation workshop News Release historic telephone booth "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Mid-Century Modern Architecture Pike County Courthouse Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Freedom Park Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Roe Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring White County Courthouse 13th Amendment Polk County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Civil Works Administration Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 free teacher resources Evelyn Gill Walker House Mississippi County Arkansas Tolbert Gill U.S. Forest Service cemetery preservsation Poinsett County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Main Street Batesville Tudor Revival Architecture Destination Downtown Conference downtown revitalization Nevada County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Skillern House Free Courthouse Poster Prairie County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Civilian Conservation Corps Sunken Lands Arkansas Railroad History Pope County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Cemetery Preservation Library Conway County Library Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Craftsman style architecture Buffalo National River historic Arkansas properties Montgomery County Arkansas free history tours Edgar Monsanto Queeny Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Humanities Council Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Delta Cultural Center Camden Public Library Main Street Searcy Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Burdette Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas History Lesson Plans Turner Restoration Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Clarendon Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Dr. Ruth Hawkins Bogg Springs Hotel Montgomery County Courthouse Madison County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Burdette Plantation Arkansas Preservation Awards Free Lesson Plan Ouachita County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants historic resort communities Walks Through History Perry County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Arkansas History Centennial Baptist Church Doddridge Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District American Legion Main Street Dumas Wingmead downtown economic development Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Saline County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Ozark Farming Historic Preservation Alliance Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Design Network National Register of Historic Places Rustic Architecture Abolition of Slavery steel window restoration workshop Bogg Springs Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction New Century Club of Camden Barney Elias House Leake-Ingham Building North Little Rock Arkansas Rosenwald Schools National Register of Historic Gothic Revival architecture historic architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Forrest City Cemetery Little Rock Central High School Louisiana Main Street program Miller County