AHPP Offers Cemetery Preservation Lecture at Morrilton Library

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, March 24, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will present “Bringing It Back: Basic Cemetery Maintenance” for the River Valley Genealogical Society at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, April 9, at the Conway County Library at 101 South Church Street in Morrillton, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

AHPP Special Projects Historian Holly Hope will offer information on cleaning and documenting gravestones, as well as safety, repair and straightening techniques, materials and tools, and landscaping issues. She also will discuss listing cemeteries on the National Register of Historic Places during the free lecture.

For more information on the free lecture, contact Hope at (501) 324-9148 or [email protected], or Euna Beavers at (501) 354-4428.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


U.S. Forest Service 13th Amendment Folk Victorian Architecture International-Style Architecture Gothic Revival architecture Wingmead Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Kiblah School Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Camden Public Library Skillern House cemetery preservsation historic architecture Arkansas religious history Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas African American Civil War History Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Design Network Nevada County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Walks Through History slipcover removal grants Pope County Courthouse Monroe County Courthouse Flood Control Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax American Legion Rosenwald Schools Rosston Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Prairie County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Marked Tree Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas free history tours Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Main Street Ozark Civilian Conservation Corps 19th Century Road Construction "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola downtown economic development Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Booneville Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Morrilton Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Main Street Batesville National Register of Historic Camden to Washington Road Mississippi Main Street Association Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Main Street Searcy Montgomery County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Louisiana Main Street program Benton Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Rustic Architecture Ozark Farming Monroe County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Conway County Library Cemetery Preservation Library Pike County Courthouse Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Three States Lumber Company White County Courthouse Evelyn Gill Walker House African American education free historic preservation workshop U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Forrest City Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas Historic Preservation Trail of Tears in Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Main Street Arkansas News Release Arkansas Humanities Council downtown revitalization Sunken Lands Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Texarkana Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House New Century Club of Camden Arkansas History Dionicio Rodriguez Sandwiching in History Arkansas Register of Historic Places County courthouse Restoration Grants Poinsett County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Business History Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Doddridge Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Tudor Revival Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District steel window restoration workshop Polk County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans historic telephone booth Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum St. Francis County Historical Society Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops North Little Rock Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Burdette Arkansas Paris Arkansas Tolbert Gill Naturalistic Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax Freedmen's Bureau Ouachita County Arkansas Freedom Park Main Street Siloam Springs free teacher resources Main Street Dumas Turner Restoration Dr. Ruth Hawkins Forrest City Cemetery Miller County Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 most endangered historic places Barney Elias House Arkansas Preservation Awards Art Deco Architecture Saline County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Montgomery County Courthouse Helena Arkansas Buffalo National River Renaissance Revival Architecture Camden Arkansas Houston Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Historic County Courthouses Mid-Century Modern Architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Free Lesson Plan National Historic Landmark Monsanto Chemical Corporation Edgar Monsanto Queeny cemetery preservation Civil Works Administration Historic Preservation Alliance Let Freedom Ring Pike County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Destination Downtown Conference historic resort communities Russellville Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Duck Hunting Elias Camp Morris Abolition of Slavery Centennial Baptist Church Henry Koen Office Building