AHPP Offers Free Historic Preservation Coloring Book

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, February 02, 2018



LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, a division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, is offering students free coloring books highlighting sites around the state that are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

“Exploring Arkansas’s Wonder: An Adventure in Historic Preservation” includes such properties as the Jacob Wolf House in Norfork, Louisiana Purchase Survey Marker in Lee County and the Rock Art Sites at Petit Jean State Park. Each page includes facts about the properties and other activities for students.

Copies of the coloring book can be ordered at or by contacting AHPP Education Outreach Coordinator Amy Milliken at (501) 324-9786 or [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


Arkansas Business History Ouachita County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Helena Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Leake-Ingham Building U.S. Forest Service Real Estate Transfer Tax Marked Tree Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Skillern House Newton County Arkansas Flood Control St. Francis County Historical Society Main Street Siloam Springs Free Courthouse Poster Nevada County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Fayetteville Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Preservation Awards News Release Naturalistic Architecture Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Camden Public Library National Register of Historic 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Sunken Lands Main Street Texarkana Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Booneville Historical Preservation Society Folk Victorian Architecture African American education Paris Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Miller County downtown revitalization Rustic Architecture Saline County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Montgomery County Courthouse Little Rock Central High School Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Mid-Century Modern Architecture historic resort communities Trail of Tears in Arkansas 13th Amendment Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Forrest City Cemetery North Little Rock Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Roe Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Pike County Courthouse Turner Restoration Rosston Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Cemetery Preservation Library Elias Camp Morris U.S. Army Corps of Engineers slipcover removal grants cemetery preservsation Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Pike County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Freedom Park Monroe County Courthouse Cumberland Presbyterian Church Benton Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Evelyn Gill Walker House Barney Elias House 19th Century Road Construction Huntsville Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Design Network Tolbert Gill Historic Preservation Alliance free history tours Henry Koen Office Building cemetery preservation Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Edgar Monsanto Queeny Perry County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Ozark Farming Burdette Arkansas downtown economic development White County Courthouse Clarendon Arkansas Buffalo National River Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut American Legion Walks Through History Kiblah School Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas historic architecture Three States Lumber Company historic Arkansas properties Main Street Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Mississippi Main Street Association Pope County Courthouse Camden Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History free teacher resources Freedmen's Bureau Rosenwald Schools New Century Club of Camden Civilian Conservation Corps Polk County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Morrilton Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas History Lesson Plans Sandwiching in History Louisiana Main Street program Burdette Plantation Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Monroe County Arkansas Wingmead Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Houston Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Camden to Washington Road Doddridge Arkansas Art Deco Architecture International-Style Architecture Erbie Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Downtown Revitalization Grants historic telephone booth Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas History Arkansas Register of Historic Places Main Street Ozark most endangered historic places Centennial Baptist Church Duck Hunting Main Street Dumas Pulaski County Courthouse Craftsman style architecture Arkansas religious history Booneville Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Conway County Library Arkansas African American Civil War History County courthouse Restoration Grants Forrest City Arkansas Madison County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Main Street Searcy Bogg Springs Hotel