AHPP Pioneer Program Set for Six Mississippi County Libraries

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Amy Milliken, education coordinator for the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, a division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, will present a program on Arkansas pioneers at six Mississippi County libraries during June.

Milliken will present “Arkansas Pioneers: Homes and Ways of Life,” a program on historic Arkansas places related to the early settlers of Arkansas, at the libraries. Milliken will make presentations:

* Monday, June 25, 1:30 p.m. at the Leachville Library at 105 S. Main St. in Leachville and 3 p.m. at the Manila Public Library at 103 S. Dewey St. in Manila

* Tuesday, June 26, 10 a.m. at the Mississippi County Library at 200 N. Fifth St. in Blytheville and 2 p.m. at the Osceola Public Library at 320 W. Hale Ave. in Osceola

* Wednesday, June 26, 1:30 p.m. at the Keiser Library at 112 Main St. in Keiser and 3 p.m. at the Wilson Library at 1 Park St. in Wilson.

For more information, contact Milliken at (501) 324-9880 or [email protected] or Beth Roberts at (870) 476-8999.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


13th Amendment Classroom Presentation free history tours Cumberland Presbyterian Church North Little Rock Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Skillern House Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas History Wingmead Roe Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Camden Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Nevada County Arkansas historic resort communities Burdette Plantation Little Rock Central High School Rosston Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Cemetery Preservation Library Evelyn Gill Walker House cemetery preservation Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Newton County Arkansas Sunken Lands Flood Control U.S. Forest Service Monroe County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center historic architecture 13th Amendment Pope County Arkansas Camden Public Library Pulaski County Courthouse Destination Downtown Conference Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Houston Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Fayetteville Arkansas International-Style Architecture Prairie County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Freedom Park downtown economic development Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Miller County Main Street Siloam Springs Main Street Arkansas Kiblah School Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas Historic Preservation Rosenwald Schools Walks Through History free teacher resources News Release historic telephone booth Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Freedmen's Bureau Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Polk County Arkansas Paris Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum slipcover removal grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Tudor Revival Architecture Let Freedom Ring Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Dumas Main Street Texarkana Bogg Springs Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Naturalistic Architecture Madison County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Burdette Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Montgomery County Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Louisiana Main Street program American Legion St. Francis County Historical Society Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places New Century Club of Camden Ouachita County Arkansas National Register of Historic Huntsville Commercial Historic District Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Preservation Awards Montgomery County Courthouse African American education Sandwiching in History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Pike County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Historic Preservation Restoration Grants National Register of Historic Places Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Batesville Dr. Ruth Hawkins Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas State University Heritage Sites downtown revitalization Art Deco Architecture Dionicio Rodriguez Free Courthouse Poster Craftsman style architecture Huntsville Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Real Estate Transfer Tax Tolbert Gill Clarendon Arkansas Main Street Ozark Conway County Library Morrilton Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Booneville Historical Preservation Society Pike County Courthouse Poinsett County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Downtown Revitalization Grants Saline County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House County courthouse Restoration Grants cemetery preservsation National Historic Landmark Arkansas Railroad History Buffalo National River Rustic Architecture most endangered historic places Phillips County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Helena Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Main Street Searcy Perry County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot White County Courthouse Booneville Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Benton Arkansas Arkansas religious history Barney Elias House Doddridge Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Erbie Arkansas Civil Works Administration Delta Cultural Center Historic County Courthouses Mississippi County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Ozark Farming "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Turner Restoration steel window restoration workshop Forrest City Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Humanities Council Leake-Ingham Building Duck Hunting