AHPP to Hold Cemetery Preservation Workshops in Forrest City, Fayetteville

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, March 10, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will host a free cemetery preservation lecture and hands-on cemetery preservation workshops in Forrest City and Fayetteville during April, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

A free lecture by veteran gravestone conservator Jonathan Appell of West Hartford, Connecticut, will be held at 6 p.m. on Friday, April 17, in the County Quorum Courtroom of the St. Francis County Courthouse at 313 South Izard Street in Forrest City. Appell will address the evolution of gravestone architecture in the U.S., gravestone materials and repair techniques.

Appell will lead the free workshop from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday, April 18, at the Forrest City Cemetery at South Izard Street and East South Avenue. The workshop will focus on how to clean, re-set and repair tombstones, as well as instructions on cemetery maintenance, suitable cleaning products and proper techniques to use. Registration for the workshop is limited to the first 40 people to sign up.

Rusty Brenner of Texas Cemetery Restoration will lead a free workshop from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday, April 25, at the Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery at 1285 Milsap Road in Fayetteville. The workshop will focus on how to clean tombstones from 9 a.m. to noon and how to re-set and repair tombstones from 1 to 4 p.m. Brenner will also provide instructions on cemetery maintenance, suitable cleaning products and proper techniques to use. Registration for the workshop is limited to the first 40 people to sign up.

To register for the workshop, or for more information, contact Holly Hope at (501) 324-9880, write her at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to her at [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 13th Amendment National Register of Historic Places Little Rock Central High School Prairie County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Buffalo National River Main Street Dumas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Booneville Historical Preservation Society historic telephone booth Russellville Arkansas U.S. Forest Service cemetery preservsation Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Main Street Searcy Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Humanities Council Civilian Conservation Corps Monroe County Courthouse Main Street Texarkana Montgomery County Courthouse St. Francis County Historical Society Wingmead Burdette Plantation Walks Through History Perry County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas downtown revitalization Montgomery County Arkansas White County Courthouse Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Flood Control County courthouse Restoration Grants Craftsman style architecture Delta Cultural Center Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Dr. Ruth Hawkins Edgar Monsanto Queeny Freedmen's Bureau Pike County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Art Deco Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Main Street Ozark Cemetery Preservation Library Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Duck Hunting Destination Downtown Conference free history tours Kiblah School Pulaski County Courthouse Booneville Arkansas Arkansas History historic Arkansas properties Abolition of Slavery Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Burdette Arkansas downtown economic development Paris Arkansas National Historic Landmark "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Design Network Pope County Courthouse 19th Century Road Construction Rosenwald Schools Barney Elias House Main Street Siloam Springs Huntsville Commercial Historic District American Legion Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Mid-Century Modern Architecture slipcover removal grants Houston Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Pope County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Monroe County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel International-Style Architecture Benton Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Elias Camp Morris steel window restoration workshop Madison County Arkansas historic architecture Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas Business History Ouachita County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Real Estate Transfer Tax Erbie Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Camden Arkansas Civil Works Administration Arkansas African American Civil War History National Register of Historic most endangered historic places Saline County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Camden Public Library Marked Tree Lock and Siphons News Release Forrest City Cemetery Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Pike County Courthouse Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Dionicio Rodriguez Sunken Lands Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Register of Historic Places Downtown Revitalization Grants Newton County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Skillern House Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Batesville New Century Club of Camden African American education Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas Historic Preservation Louisiana Main Street program Bogg Springs Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Miller County Poinsett County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture North Little Rock Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Conway County Library Clarendon Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas religious history Roe Arkansas Tolbert Gill Rustic Architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Huntsville Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Forrest City Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association historic resort communities Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Sandwiching in History free historic preservation workshop cemetery preservation Ozark Farming Trail of Tears in Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Freedom Park Camden to Washington Road Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Renaissance Revival Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Turner Restoration Arkansas Historic Preservation Program free teacher resources Polk County Arkansas