AHPP To Hold Free Steel Window Restoration Workshop

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, March 04, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will host a free steel window restoration workshop April 10 and 11 in Little Rock, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

The workshop will be led by Jim Turner of Turner Restoration of Detroit, Michigan, and will be held at 2323 South Scott Street on April 10 and 11. Students will learn the fundamentals of repair and rehabilitation of traditional residential and commercial steel windows using both traditional and modern restorative methods. The workshop seeks to expand the skills of workers with existing experience and knowledge in the trades. Home owners also may find the training beneficial in repairing and improving the energy efficiency of their steel casement windows.

For more information or to register, contact the AHPP at (501) 324-9880 or [email protected]. The workshop is limited to 15 students.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council historic architecture historic telephone booth Camden Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council National Historic Landmark Montgomery County Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas historic resort communities Dr. Ruth Hawkins U.S. Army Corps of Engineers free historic preservation workshop Main Street Siloam Springs Free Courthouse Poster Kiblah School Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Benton Arkansas Walks Through History Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 New Century Club of Camden Skillern House St. Francis County Historical Society Freedmen's Bureau Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Rosston Arkansas downtown economic development Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Main Street Dumas Henry Koen Office Building Marked Tree Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Register of Historic Places American Legion Pope County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Evelyn Gill Walker House Miller County Main Street Searcy Mississippi County Arkansas National Register of Historic slipcover removal grants Civilian Conservation Corps Leake-Ingham Building Buffalo National River Turner Restoration most endangered historic places Mosaic Templars Cultural Center 13th Amendment Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas History Three States Lumber Company Main Street Texarkana Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas African American education cemetery preservsation Art Deco Architecture White County Courthouse steel window restoration workshop Arkansas Business History Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas State University Heritage Sites County courthouse Restoration Grants historic Arkansas properties Civil Works Administration Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery North Little Rock Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Ouachita County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Pulaski County Courthouse Real Estate Transfer Tax Craftsman style architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Booneville Historical Preservation Society Clarendon Arkansas Roe Arkansas Conway County Library Newton County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Ozark Farming 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Tudor Revival Architecture National Register of Historic Places Bogg Springs Hotel Polk County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Burdette Plantation Let Freedom Ring Sandwiching in History Bogg Springs Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Pike County Courthouse Abolition of Slavery Mississippi Main Street Association Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Russellville Arkansas cemetery preservation Centennial Baptist Church Helena Arkansas Duck Hunting Flood Control Booneville Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Forrest City Cemetery International-Style Architecture Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Destination Downtown Conference Barney Elias House "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants downtown revitalization Dionicio Rodriguez Wingmead Monroe County Courthouse Paris Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture U.S. Forest Service Montgomery County Courthouse Little Rock Central High School Nevada County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas free history tours Huntsville Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Main Street Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Saline County Arkansas Sunken Lands Edgar Monsanto Queeny Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Monsanto Chemical Corporation News Release Rosenwald Schools Arkansas religious history Downtown Revitalization Grants Doddridge Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Pope County Courthouse free teacher resources Tolbert Gill Forrest City Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Rustic Architecture Houston Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Phillips County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Madison County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Batesville Camden to Washington Road Arkansas Railroad History Freedom Park Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Main Street Ozark Arkansas Historic Preservation Pike County Arkansas Camden Public Library Louisiana Main Street program Mid-Century Modern Architecture Gothic Revival architecture Elias Camp Morris