AHPP To Hold Free Steel Window Restoration Workshop

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, March 03, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will host a free steel window restoration workshop April 10 and 11 in Little Rock, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

The workshop will be led by Jim Turner of Turner Restoration of Detroit, Michigan, and will be held at 2323 South Scott Street on April 10 and 11. Students will learn the fundamentals of repair and rehabilitation of traditional residential and commercial steel windows using both traditional and modern restorative methods. The workshop seeks to expand the skills of workers with existing experience and knowledge in the trades. Home owners also may find the training beneficial in repairing and improving the energy efficiency of their steel casement windows.

For more information or to register, contact the AHPP at (501) 324-9880 or [email protected]. The workshop is limited to 15 students.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


National Historic Landmark Main Street Dumas Burdette Plantation Bogg Springs Hotel Camden Arkansas historic telephone booth Arkansas Historic Preservation Prairie County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Saline County Arkansas cemetery preservation Huntsville Commercial Historic District Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Montgomery County Courthouse National Register of Historic Places Flood Control U.S. Forest Service Main Street Ozark Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House free history tours Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Elias Camp Morris Booneville Arkansas cemetery preservsation News Release Pope County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Nevada County Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Little Rock Central High School Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas religious history free historic preservation workshop Henry Koen Office Building Camden to Washington Road Sunken Lands North Little Rock Arkansas 13th Amendment Edgar Monsanto Queeny Skillern House Monroe County Courthouse Mid-Century Modern Architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District African American education "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants New Century Club of Camden Three States Lumber Company Free Lesson Plan Booneville Historical Preservation Society Downtown Revitalization Grants Madison County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Rustic Architecture Fayetteville Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Conway County Library Monroe County Arkansas White County Courthouse Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Main Street Texarkana Tudor Revival Architecture Abolition of Slavery Cemetery Preservation Library Destination Downtown Conference Clarendon Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas Design Network Newton County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Miller County Turner Restoration Russellville Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot slipcover removal grants Helena Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Folk Victorian Architecture Rosston Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Monsanto Chemical Corporation Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas History Erbie Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins free teacher resources Morrilton Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Huntsville Arkansas Barney Elias House Camden Public Library Roe Arkansas Main Street Batesville Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax downtown revitalization Rosenwald Schools Buffalo National River Cumberland Presbyterian Church Tolbert Gill Pulaski County Courthouse Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas Business History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas History Lesson Plans National Register of Historic Free Courthouse Poster Civilian Conservation Corps Freedom Park St. Francis County Historical Society Mississippi County Arkansas historic resort communities Renaissance Revival Architecture Forrest City Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Gothic Revival architecture Duck Hunting Houston Arkansas Main Street Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants American Legion Paris Arkansas International-Style Architecture Arkansas Preservation Awards Marked Tree Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Main Street Searcy Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 historic architecture Polk County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Kiblah School Centennial Baptist Church Poinsett County Arkansas most endangered historic places Ozark Farming Let Freedom Ring Craftsman style architecture steel window restoration workshop Benton Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Walks Through History Phillips County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Delta Cultural Center downtown economic development Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Pike County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Freedmen's Bureau Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Wingmead Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation