AHPP to Host Cemetery Preservation Workshops

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, March 04, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will host a free cemetery preservation lecture and hands-on cemetery preservation workshops in Forrest City and Fayetteville during April, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

A free lecture by veteran gravestone conservator Jonathan Appell of West Hartford, Connecticut, will be held at 6 p.m. on Friday, April 17, in the County Quorum Courtroom of the St. Francis County Courthouse at 313 South Izard Street in Forrest City. Appell will address the evolution of gravestone architecture in the U.S., gravestone materials and repair techniques.

Appell will lead the free workshop from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday, April 18, at the Forrest City Cemetery at South Izard Street and East South Avenue. The workshop will focus on how to clean, re-set and repair tombstones, as well as instructions on cemetery maintenance, suitable cleaning products and proper techniques to use. Registration for the workshop is limited to the first 40 people to sign up.

Rusty Brenner of Texas Cemetery Restoration will lead a free workshop from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday, April 25, at the Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery at 1285 Milsap Road in Fayetteville. The workshop will focus on how to clean tombstones from 9 a.m. to noon and how to re-set and repair tombstones from 1 to 4 p.m. Brenner will also provide instructions on cemetery maintenance, suitable cleaning products and proper techniques to use. Registration for the workshop is limited to the first 40 people to sign up.

To register for the workshop, or for more information, contact Holly Hope at (501) 324-9880, write her at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to her at [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


19th Century Road Construction Arkansas History Lesson Plans Marked Tree Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas History Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Forrest City Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Roe Arkansas Main Street Ozark Bogg Springs Hotel Main Street Siloam Springs Pulaski County Courthouse Monroe County Arkansas Helena Arkansas African American education Flood Control Burdette Arkansas Turner Restoration Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Humanities Council Main Street Batesville Forrest City Cemetery 13th Amendment Abolition of Slavery Monsanto Chemical Corporation Real Estate Transfer Tax steel window restoration workshop News Release Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Dr. Ruth Hawkins Russellville Arkansas Sandwiching in History Free Courthouse Poster Delta Cultural Center downtown economic development Edgar Monsanto Queeny Conway County Library historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Polk County Arkansas Camden Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Dionicio Rodriguez Booneville Historical Preservation Society Miller County Folk Victorian Architecture Elias Camp Morris Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery slipcover removal grants Houston Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Phillips County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Barney Elias House Centennial Baptist Church cemetery preservsation County courthouse Restoration Grants Wingmead Madison County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Buffalo National River Perry County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut White County Courthouse Main Street Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Walks Through History Henry Koen Office Building Monroe County Courthouse Craftsman style architecture New Century Club of Camden Arkansas State University Heritage Sites free history tours Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Poinsett County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Saline County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Main Street Texarkana Downtown Revitalization Grants Cemetery Preservation Library Ouachita County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Kiblah School 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Let Freedom Ring historic telephone booth free teacher resources Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House St. Francis County Historical Society Fayetteville Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Rosenwald Schools Destination Downtown Conference Benton Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau National Register of Historic Places Pope County Courthouse Main Street Searcy American Legion Montgomery County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Camden Public Library Freedom Park Leake-Ingham Building Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Register of Historic Places North Little Rock Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Three States Lumber Company U.S. Forest Service Mississippi Main Street Association Rustic Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Historic Preservation Alliance Pike County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas cemetery preservation Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Duck Hunting Civil Works Administration Montgomery County Courthouse Skillern House Pope County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas religious history Arkansas Business History Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards most endangered historic places Burdette Plantation Cumberland Presbyterian Church Paris Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Ozark Farming Evelyn Gill Walker House Pike County Courthouse Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Prairie County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Gothic Revival architecture National Register of Historic Civilian Conservation Corps historic architecture Sunken Lands historic resort communities Mid-Century Modern Architecture Camden to Washington Road Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Free Lesson Plan Booneville Arkansas Main Street Dumas Arkansas Design Network Tolbert Gill downtown revitalization