AHPP to Lead Tour of Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, March 06, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–Rachel Silva, preservation outreach coordinator for the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, will lead a tour of the Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Historic District at Booneville on March 28, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Silva will lead a tour of the Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Historic District beginning at 9 a.m. on Saturday, March 28. The tour, sponsored by the Booneville Historical Preservation Society and the Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum, will begin in front of the Nyberg Building at 87 Reed Road, Highway 116 South. The tour will visit several buildings in the district and will last about two hours. Participants are urged to dress for the appropriate weather and wear comfortable shoes. A cookout will follow the tour, and Anita Reddig, a doctoral candidate at Arkansas State University, will make a presentation on her research into the sanatorium’s history. More information is available

For information, call Silva at (501) 324-9880, write her at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


County courthouse Restoration Grants Art Deco Architecture International-Style Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Ouachita County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Freedom Park Rosenwald Schools Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Texarkana Arkansas Preservation Awards Main Street Ozark Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Mississippi County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Booneville Historical Preservation Society Phillips County Arkansas free teacher resources U.S. Army Corps of Engineers steel window restoration workshop Doddridge Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Arkansas Design Network Sandwiching in History Arkansas Historic Preservation Main Street Searcy Pope County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas African American Civil War History Russellville Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Pike County Courthouse Skillern House Leake-Ingham Building Burdette Plantation Montgomery County Arkansas 13th Amendment Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Batesville Arkansas History Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South historic resort communities Folk Victorian Architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas religious history Camden to Washington Road Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Civil Works Administration Conway County Library Civilian Conservation Corps Henry Koen Office Building Tudor Revival Architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Fayetteville Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Abolition of Slavery New Century Club of Camden Buffalo National River Prairie County Arkansas Sunken Lands most endangered historic places Destination Downtown Conference Montgomery County Courthouse Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Flood Control Booneville Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Register of Historic Places American Legion Centennial Baptist Church Cumberland Presbyterian Church Naturalistic Architecture Renaissance Revival Architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Humanities Council Ozark Farming Camden Arkansas African American education National Register of Historic Places Forrest City Arkansas Main Street Dumas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Free Lesson Plan cemetery preservation free history tours Bogg Springs Arkansas National Historic Landmark Perry County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Wingmead Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Elias Camp Morris Duck Hunting cemetery preservsation Main Street Arkansas slipcover removal grants Burdette Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Cemetery Preservation Library Camden Public Library Louisiana Main Street program News Release Edgar Monsanto Queeny historic architecture Delta Cultural Center National Register of Historic historic Arkansas properties downtown revitalization Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Downtown Revitalization Grants Paris Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Nevada County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Main Street Siloam Springs Newton County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Madison County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Three States Lumber Company Tolbert Gill Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Craftsman style architecture Clarendon Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Monroe County Courthouse Morrilton Arkansas Miller County Rosston Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Forrest City Cemetery Rustic Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas History Lesson Plans historic telephone booth downtown economic development Walks Through History Barney Elias House Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Railroad History Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Turner Restoration Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Kiblah School Polk County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Dr. Ruth Hawkins Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Monroe County Arkansas White County Courthouse Roe Arkansas Houston Arkansas Little Rock Central High School