AHPP to Lead Tour of Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Historic District

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, March 09, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–Rachel Silva, preservation outreach coordinator for the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, will lead a tour of the Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Historic District at Booneville on March 28, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Silva will lead a tour of the Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Historic District beginning at 9 a.m. on Saturday, March 28. The tour, sponsored by the Booneville Historical Preservation Society and the Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum, will begin in front of the Nyberg Building at 87 Reed Road, Highway 116 South. The tour will visit several buildings in the district and will last about two hours. Participants are urged to dress for the appropriate weather and wear comfortable shoes. A cookout will follow the tour, and Anita Reddig, a doctoral candidate at Arkansas State University, will make a presentation on her research into the sanatorium’s history. More information is available at

For information, call Silva at (501) 324-9880, write her at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Walks Through History Gothic Revival architecture Pope County Courthouse Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Monsanto Chemical Corporation downtown revitalization Arkansas Railroad History Burdette Plantation Three States Lumber Company Arkansas Register of Historic Places Tolbert Gill Rosston Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Roe Arkansas Helena Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Historic County Courthouses historic Arkansas properties New Century Club of Camden Little Rock Central High School African American education Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut historic telephone booth Trail of Tears in Arkansas Main Street Batesville Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Barney Elias House Mid-Century Modern Architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Sunken Lands Bogg Springs Arkansas International-Style Architecture most endangered historic places Huntsville Commercial Historic District historic architecture Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Preservation Awards 13th Amendment Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Russellville Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola National Register of Historic Places Marked Tree Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Pike County Courthouse steel window restoration workshop Craftsman style architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax cemetery preservsation Monroe County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers slipcover removal grants Sandwiching in History Clarendon Arkansas Camden Arkansas Civil Works Administration Bogg Springs Hotel Naturalistic Architecture Burdette Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church White County Courthouse Newton County Arkansas free teacher resources Elias Camp Morris Booneville Arkansas Freedom Park Doddridge Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Saline County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Nevada County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Business History Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Morrilton Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Booneville Historical Preservation Society County courthouse Restoration Grants historic resort communities Mississippi Main Street Association 19th Century Road Construction downtown economic development Miller County National Register of Historic Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Paris Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Abolition of Slavery Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Design Network Buffalo National River Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Evelyn Gill Walker House Rustic Architecture Let Freedom Ring Free Lesson Plan Madison County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Delta Cultural Center Pulaski County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance North Little Rock Arkansas Duck Hunting Dionicio Rodriguez Forrest City Arkansas Main Street Ozark Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Main Street Dumas Conway County Library Rosenwald Schools Camden Public Library Monroe County Courthouse Pike County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas religious history Skillern House Centennial Baptist Church cemetery preservation Kiblah School St. Francis County Historical Society Wingmead Ozark Farming Main Street Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Civilian Conservation Corps Main Street Siloam Springs Perry County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas History Art Deco Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Freedmen's Bureau Mississippi County Arkansas News Release Flood Control Arkansas Historic Preservation Main Street Searcy Renaissance Revival Architecture Ouachita County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Montgomery County Courthouse National Historic Landmark free history tours Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Turner Restoration Polk County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Humanities Council Houston Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Camden to Washington Road "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Forrest City Cemetery Erbie Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants American Legion