AHPP to Present Cemetery Iconography Program at Hot Springs Library

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, October 02, 2017

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Special Projects Historian Holly Hope will present a gravestone iconography lecture in Hot Springs on Tuesday, October 17.

The free lecture – “Flora, Fauna and Faces: Reading Cemetery Symbolism” – will begin at 6 p.m. on Tuesday, October 17, the Garland County Library at 1427 Malvern Avenue in Hot Springs.

For more information on the free lecture, contact Hope at (501) 324-9148 or [email protected], or Cori Williams at (501) 623-4161 or [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Sunken Lands Delta Cultural Center steel window restoration workshop Prairie County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Pulaski County Courthouse Walks Through History Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Ouachita County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas History Freedom Park Skillern House "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House most endangered historic places U.S. Forest Service Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Pope County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Montgomery County Courthouse Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Searcy Russellville Arkansas African American education Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery American Legion historic Arkansas properties Monroe County Courthouse Elias Camp Morris cemetery preservation News Release Camden Public Library Mid-Century Modern Architecture National Historic Landmark Little Rock Central High School Kiblah School Ozark Farming Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Newton County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Sandwiching in History Cemetery Preservation Library slipcover removal grants Historic County Courthouses cemetery preservsation downtown revitalization Conway County Library Mississippi Main Street Association Erbie Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau free historic preservation workshop Pike County Courthouse Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Benton Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Dr. Ruth Hawkins Cumberland Presbyterian Church historic resort communities Arkansas religious history Arkansas Railroad History Craftsman style architecture Wingmead Arkansas Historic Preservation Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Humanities Council Morrilton Arkansas Miller County Barney Elias House Centennial Baptist Church Huntsville Commercial Historic District International-Style Architecture New Century Club of Camden Tudor Revival Architecture Main Street Siloam Springs historic architecture Burdette Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Doddridge Arkansas Tolbert Gill Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Henry Koen Office Building Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Rosenwald Schools Montgomery County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants White County Courthouse Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Turner Restoration 13th Amendment Abolition of Slavery Booneville Historical Preservation Society free history tours Renaissance Revival Architecture Folk Victorian Architecture Buffalo National River Huntsville Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Batesville downtown economic development U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 19th Century Road Construction Free Lesson Plan Bogg Springs Hotel Main Street Ozark Camden Arkansas Houston Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Flood Control Booneville Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Forrest City Cemetery Madison County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Paris Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas free teacher resources Historic Preservation Alliance Burdette Plantation Monsanto Chemical Corporation Duck Hunting Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Evelyn Gill Walker House Main Street Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Phillips County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South County courthouse Restoration Grants Civil Works Administration Arkansas Preservation Awards Roe Arkansas Main Street Dumas Bogg Springs Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Clarendon Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Art Deco Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History historic telephone booth Louisiana Main Street program Edgar Monsanto Queeny Forrest City Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council National Register of Historic