AHPP to Present Cemetery Lecture in Forrest City

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, March 12, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will present “Bringing It Back: Basic Cemetery Maintenance” for the St. Francis County Historical Society at 7 p.m. on Thursday, March 19, in the County Quorum Courtroom of the St. Francis County Courthouse at 313 South Izard Street in Forrest City, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

AHPP Special Projects Historian Holly Hope will offer information on cleaning and documenting gravestones, as well as safety, repair and straightening techniques, materials and tools, and landscaping issues. She also will discuss listing cemeteries on the National Register of Historic Places during the free lecture.

For more information on the free lecture, contact Hope at (501) 324-9148 or [email protected], or email [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Montgomery County Courthouse County courthouse Restoration Grants Destination Downtown Conference "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Booneville Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Marked Tree Lock and Siphons U.S. Forest Service Rustic Architecture Little Rock Central High School Historic County Courthouses Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas History Lesson Plans Pope County Courthouse Camden to Washington Road Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Burdette Plantation Sunken Lands Main Street Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Saline County Arkansas National Register of Historic Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Polk County Arkansas American Legion Walks Through History Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Ozark Farming Clarendon Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Benton Arkansas slipcover removal grants Prairie County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society National Register of Historic Places New Century Club of Camden Houston Arkansas Main Street Dumas Pike County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut free history tours Civil Works Administration Arkansas Business History Arkansas Design Network downtown economic development Three States Lumber Company Pulaski County Courthouse Let Freedom Ring Erbie Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Downtown Revitalization Grants Pope County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Roe Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Free Lesson Plan Skillern House Barney Elias House Arkansas Preservation Awards Historic Preservation Alliance Huntsville Commercial Historic District Centennial Baptist Church Flood Control Arkansas Humanities Council Free Courthouse Poster Phillips County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Mississippi County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Bogg Springs Arkansas cemetery preservation Montgomery County Arkansas cemetery preservsation most endangered historic places African American education Doddridge Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Paris Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Kiblah School Arkansas Historic Preservation Tudor Revival Architecture historic telephone booth Camden Public Library Madison County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel News Release Trail of Tears in Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center downtown revitalization Louisiana Main Street program Conway County Library Gothic Revival architecture Forrest City Cemetery Dionicio Rodriguez free teacher resources Art Deco Architecture 19th Century Road Construction Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Tolbert Gill Ouachita County Arkansas Duck Hunting Mississippi Main Street Association steel window restoration workshop North Little Rock Arkansas Turner Restoration Elias Camp Morris Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas religious history free historic preservation workshop Arkansas History Monroe County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Naturalistic Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Main Street Ozark Monsanto Chemical Corporation Morrilton Arkansas Sandwiching in History Main Street Siloam Springs Camden Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Register of Historic Places Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Batesville Buffalo National River Huntsville Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation International-Style Architecture 13th Amendment Main Street Texarkana Freedmen's Bureau White County Courthouse Burdette Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Nevada County Arkansas Freedom Park Helena Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Railroad History Edgar Monsanto Queeny Cemetery Preservation Library Marked Tree Arkansas Rosston Arkansas historic resort communities Main Street Searcy historic architecture Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Wingmead Miller County Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Forrest City Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Dr. Ruth Hawkins Real Estate Transfer Tax