AHPP to Present Cemetery Program in El Dorado

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, April 28, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Special Projects Historian Holly Hope will present a free cemetery preservation lecture in El Dorado on May 3, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Hope will present “Bringing it Back: Basic Cemetery Maintenance” for the Union County Genealogical Society at 2:30 p.m. on Sunday, May 3, at Barton Library at 200 East Fifth Street in El Dorado. The presentation includes information on cleaning and documenting gravestones, safety, repair and straightening techniques, materials and tools, and landscaping issues, in addition to information on listing cemeteries on the National Register of Historic Places. For more information, contact Hope at (501) 324-9880 or [email protected] or Charlotte Baine at [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Tolbert Gill free teacher resources Cumberland Presbyterian Church Madison County Arkansas Skillern House Russellville Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Ozark Farming Benton Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Mississippi County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Freedom Park Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Ozark Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax historic architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Main Street Batesville Flood Control Pike County Courthouse Tudor Revival Architecture 13th Amendment Let Freedom Ring Walks Through History Henry Koen Office Building free history tours Sunken Lands Three States Lumber Company National Register of Historic Places Main Street Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Helena Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Turner Restoration Civil Works Administration Nevada County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Camden to Washington Road Rustic Architecture Arkansas Register of Historic Places cemetery preservsation Ouachita County Arkansas historic telephone booth Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Historic County Courthouses Prairie County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Historic Preservation Program historic resort communities National Register of Historic Elias Camp Morris Wingmead St. Francis County Historical Society Clarendon Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Phillips County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Delta Cultural Center Mississippi Main Street Association Newton County Arkansas Arkansas History Bogg Springs Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Rosenwald Schools Rosston Arkansas News Release Main Street Searcy steel window restoration workshop Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 New Century Club of Camden Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas historic Arkansas properties slipcover removal grants Louisiana Main Street program downtown revitalization Folk Victorian Architecture Huntsville Arkansas Buffalo National River Forrest City Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas History Lesson Plans Camden Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Main Street Dumas Pope County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Erbie Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery most endangered historic places Destination Downtown Conference Real Estate Transfer Tax Pulaski County Courthouse Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Conway County Library African American education Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Preservation Awards Camden Public Library Arkansas Railroad History 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Burdette Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Little Rock Central High School Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Miller County American Legion Monroe County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Roe Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Civilian Conservation Corps Montgomery County Arkansas cemetery preservation Saline County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Fayetteville Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Gothic Revival architecture Booneville Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Morrilton Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Arkansas religious history Barney Elias House Centennial Baptist Church Dr. Ruth Hawkins Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Leake-Ingham Building Sandwiching in History Arkansas Business History County courthouse Restoration Grants Abolition of Slavery Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission downtown economic development Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Kiblah School Edgar Monsanto Queeny Paris Arkansas National Historic Landmark Houston Arkansas Craftsman style architecture U.S. Forest Service White County Courthouse Arkansas African American Civil War History Main Street Texarkana Monroe County Courthouse North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Pike County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Duck Hunting Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut