AHPP to Present Program on 1960 Bomber Accident

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, August 31, 2017

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will present a program titled “’A Living Hell’: The Story of a B-47 Bomber Crash That Devastated Little Rock Neighborhoods” to the Central Arkansas Chapter of the Arkansas Archeological Society at 7 p.m. Wednesday, September 13, at the Witt Stevens, Jr., Nature Center at 602 President Clinton Avenue in Little Rock.

The free lecture by AHPP Survey Historian Travis Ratermann will discuss the March 31, 1960, incident in which a B-47 bomber disintegrated above Little Rock, strewing wreckage across several Little Rock neighborhoods.

For more information on the free lecture, contact Devin Sorrows at [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


North Little Rock Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers free teacher resources Arkansas History Lesson Plans Delta Cultural Center Wingmead Monsanto Chemical Corporation Walks Through History Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Helena Arkansas Pope County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Pike County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Mississippi County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Elias Camp Morris Little Rock Central High School Perry County Arkansas White County Courthouse American Legion Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Design Network free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Preservation Awards News Release Miller County County courthouse Restoration Grants historic Arkansas properties Main Street Arkansas Buffalo National River Cemetery Preservation Library Pope County Courthouse Trail of Tears in Arkansas Sunken Lands Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Three States Lumber Company Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Forrest City Arkansas Main Street Dumas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Freedmen's Bureau Phillips County Arkansas Conway County Library Nevada County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Morrilton Arkansas historic architecture Monroe County Courthouse slipcover removal grants Camden Public Library 13th Amendment Evelyn Gill Walker House Camden to Washington Road Centennial Baptist Church Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House International-Style Architecture Arkansas Railroad History Roe Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Mosaic Templars Cultural Center New Century Club of Camden Main Street Texarkana Arkansas History Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Turner Restoration Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Bogg Springs Hotel Skillern House U.S. Forest Service Free Courthouse Poster Flood Control Marked Tree Arkansas Kiblah School Tudor Revival Architecture Camden Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas religious history National Register of Historic Places Real Estate Transfer Tax Booneville Historical Preservation Society Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Siloam Springs Pulaski County Courthouse "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants historic telephone booth Edgar Monsanto Queeny free history tours Craftsman style architecture Burdette Plantation Arkansas Historic Preservation Main Street Batesville Mid-Century Modern Architecture Free Lesson Plan Art Deco Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Barney Elias House Dionicio Rodriguez Henry Koen Office Building Sandwiching in History Madison County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Historic County Courthouses Huntsville Commercial Historic District Saline County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program cemetery preservsation National Register of Historic steel window restoration workshop Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Business History historic resort communities cemetery preservation Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Fayetteville Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas downtown economic development Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Clarendon Arkansas most endangered historic places Dr. Ruth Hawkins Monroe County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Register of Historic Places Montgomery County Courthouse Ozark Farming Cumberland Presbyterian Church Doddridge Arkansas Abolition of Slavery St. Francis County Historical Society Naturalistic Architecture Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops downtown revitalization Gothic Revival architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Civilian Conservation Corps Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Booneville Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum African American education Houston Arkansas Rustic Architecture Benton Arkansas Freedom Park Let Freedom Ring Tolbert Gill Historic Preservation Alliance Russellville Arkansas Main Street Ozark Main Street Searcy Polk County Arkansas Civil Works Administration 19th Century Road Construction Louisiana Main Street program Duck Hunting