Alliance seeks Most-Endangered Historic Places Nomination

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, January 29, 2015

Little Rock—The Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas requests your help in identifying endangered historic places that reflect our Arkansas heritage for the 2015 Most Endangered Places List.

The Most Endangered Places list highlights historically and architecturally significant properties throughout the state that are worthy of preservation. The Alliance is soliciting nominations from residents and organizations across Arkansas of buildings, structures, sites and other places to be considered for inclusion in the list. The deadline for submitting a completed nomination is March 13, 2015

The Historic Preservation Alliance launched the Most Endangered Places program in 1999 to raise awareness of the importance of Arkansas’s historic properties to the state’s heritage. The sites reflect threats such as deterioration, neglect, insufficient funds, insensitive public policy and inappropriate development. The Alliance will compile the 2015 list of Arkansas’s Most Endangered Places from nominations by the public and the list will be announced in May during Arkansas Heritage Month and National Preservation Month.

Previous places listed include the Johnny Cash Family Home in Dyess, the William E. Woodruff House in Little Rock, Arkansas Mound Sites throughout the state, the White River Bridge in Clarendon, the Thompson Building in Hot Springs, African-American Rosenwald Schools and Historic County Courthouses throughout the state.

Criteria considered for inclusion in the list of Arkansas’s Most Endangered Places includes the degree of a property’s local, state, or national significance; a property’s eligibility for the National or Arkansas Register of Historic Places and the imminence and degree of the threat to the property.

The public is invited to participate in the Most Endangered Places program by nominating properties to the Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas’s 2015 list. Nomination information and program guidelines can be found on the HPAA’s website, The property nomination information, photographs and support materials can be submitted via an online form or email. For questions or more information call 501-372-4757, or email [email protected]

The Historic Preservation Alliance works to build stronger communities by reconnecting Arkansans to our heritage and empowering people to save and rehabilitate historic places. For more information about the Alliance and becoming a member, contact Vanessa at 501-372-4757, [email protected], or visit

Recent Posts


Clarendon Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Louisiana Main Street program Sandwiching in History U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Humanities Council Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Register of Historic Places cemetery preservsation Montgomery County Courthouse Gothic Revival architecture Rustic Architecture Poinsett County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Cemetery Preservation Library Henry Koen Office Building Conway County Library Mississippi County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Civil Works Administration Pope County Arkansas Main Street Searcy free teacher resources Folk Victorian Architecture Monroe County Courthouse Marked Tree Arkansas Craftsman style architecture downtown economic development Arkansas Design Network Freedmen's Bureau Three States Lumber Company New Century Club of Camden Huntsville Arkansas Free Lesson Plan most endangered historic places Freedom Park Arkansas Preservation Awards Real Estate Transfer Tax historic architecture Let Freedom Ring National Historic Landmark Doddridge Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Booneville Historical Preservation Society Naturalistic Architecture Benton Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Tolbert Gill Centennial Baptist Church Mid-Century Modern Architecture Historic County Courthouses free history tours Rosenwald Schools 13th Amendment "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Main Street Texarkana 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Polk County Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Evelyn Gill Walker House Civilian Conservation Corps Newton County Arkansas Sunken Lands White County Courthouse Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Barney Elias House Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Helena Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas History News Release Walks Through History Booneville Arkansas American Legion International-Style Architecture Burdette Arkansas Paris Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas History Lesson Plans Main Street Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Montgomery County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Fayetteville Arkansas Wingmead Historic Preservation Alliance County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Railroad History Huntsville Commercial Historic District Madison County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Business History Camden Public Library downtown revitalization slipcover removal grants Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Houston Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Duck Hunting Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Nevada County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Buffalo National River Russellville Arkansas historic resort communities historic telephone booth Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Camden to Washington Road cemetery preservation Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Main Street Ozark 19th Century Road Construction Downtown Revitalization Grants Saline County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Cumberland Presbyterian Church Monsanto Chemical Corporation Renaissance Revival Architecture Main Street Batesville Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Mississippi Main Street Association Forrest City Arkansas Burdette Plantation Main Street Siloam Springs Pike County Courthouse Skillern House Roe Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Delta Cultural Center Abolition of Slavery Miller County Flood Control Bogg Springs Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Trail of Tears in Arkansas Main Street Dumas Pike County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Leake-Ingham Building Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Bogg Springs Hotel African American education Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax National Register of Historic Places National Register of Historic Kiblah School Art Deco Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Ozark Farming Turner Restoration Camden Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas