Application deadlines set for Historic Preservation GrantsThe Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) announces deadlines for the newest round of grants. These grant programs include the division’s popular County Courthouse Restoration Grants and Hi

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, September 02, 2020

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) announces deadlines for the newest round of grants. These grant programs include the division’s popular County Courthouse Restoration Grants and Historic Preservation Restoration Grants.

Letters of intent are due on Friday, Nov. 13, 2020. A free application workshop will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 3, at 9 a.m. via Zoom. RSVPs for the workshop are required by calling or emailing Joia Burton at 501.324.9883 or [email protected].

“If you plan to submit a grant and have not gone through the process before, I highly recommend attending the workshop put on by the grants team,” says Scott Kaufman, division director for the AHPP. “Every spring we look forward to combing through the stack of applicants and working with new grantees to see their worthy projects come to fruition.”

Additional deadlines include the Courthouse Grant application to AHPP on Friday, Jan. 29, 2021, and the Historic Preservation Restoration Grant application due on Friday, March 5, 2021. Applicants must create a free login/password through the online portal at Winners are usually announced in June during a public ceremony.

“Making these grants available that restore the historic fabric in Arkansas communities is one of my favorite duties as Secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism,” says Stacy Hurst, who also serves as the state historic preservation officer. “As I travel through the state, I get to see first-hand the impact this funding has on communities. During the last grant period we gave out more than $1.6 million in Courthouse Grants and over $800,000 in Historic Preservation Restoration Grants thanks to funding from the Real Estate Transfer Tax.”

As part of Parks, Heritage and Tourism, the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) is the division of Arkansas Heritage responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Main Street Arkansas is a program which falls under AHPP. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Monroe County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Civil Works Administration Polk County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Historic Preservation Alliance U.S. Army Corps of Engineers National Register of Historic Places downtown revitalization Ozark Farming 13th Amendment Main Street Searcy Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Pope County Courthouse Elias Camp Morris Camden Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Russellville Arkansas Turner Restoration Arkansas History Lesson Plans Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Booneville Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas History Louisiana Main Street program Nevada County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Cemetery Preservation Library historic telephone booth Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Poinsett County Arkansas free history tours Little Rock Central High School Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Pope County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Wingmead Rustic Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants free teacher resources Dionicio Rodriguez Buffalo National River Edgar Monsanto Queeny News Release Let Freedom Ring Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Main Street Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Main Street Ozark historic architecture Burdette Plantation Pike County Courthouse Mississippi Main Street Association cemetery preservsation Cumberland Presbyterian Church Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Flood Control Freedom Park National Historic Landmark American Legion Mississippi County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Historic County Courthouses Camden to Washington Road Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Business History Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Art Deco Architecture Tolbert Gill 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Monsanto Chemical Corporation Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Burdette Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Batesville Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Madison County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Booneville Historical Preservation Society historic Arkansas properties Tudor Revival Architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Register of Historic Places Kiblah School Sunken Lands National Register of Historic Main Street Siloam Springs Henry Koen Office Building Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Pike County Arkansas Walks Through History Craftsman style architecture St. Francis County Historical Society Camden Public Library Barney Elias House Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Free Courthouse Poster Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Montgomery County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan White County Courthouse Abolition of Slavery Skillern House Bogg Springs Hotel Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 African American education Rosenwald Schools Duck Hunting steel window restoration workshop Benton Arkansas downtown economic development historic resort communities Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Houston Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Mid-Century Modern Architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Pulaski County Courthouse Dr. Ruth Hawkins Destination Downtown Conference Rosston Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Fayetteville Arkansas slipcover removal grants Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Huntsville Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Design Network Conway County Library Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Main Street Dumas Miller County Leake-Ingham Building Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Three States Lumber Company Centennial Baptist Church Monroe County Courthouse Huntsville Commercial Historic District Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Doddridge Arkansas International-Style Architecture Civilian Conservation Corps 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Humanities Council Naturalistic Architecture free historic preservation workshop most endangered historic places Paris Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Helena Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Roe Arkansas cemetery preservation