Arkansas Civil War 150 Grants Awarded

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, March 11, 2015

LITTLE ROCK—The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission has awarded $14,565 in grants for nine projects to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the American Civil War, ACWSC Chairman Tom Dupree announced today.

Recipients of Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Grants were:

* Bill and Sharon Arnold Family Foundation of DeValls Bluff, $2,000 for a Civil War program

* Little Rock School District, $2,000 to transport students for programs at the MacArthur Museum of Arkansas Military History and the Old State House Museum in Little Rock

* Ozark Arts Council in Harrison, $2,000 for the play “Shenandoah – The Musical”

* Delta Cultural Center in Helena-West Helena, $2,000 for the 152nd Anniversary Re-enactment of the Battle of Helena

* Dallas County Museum in Fordyce, $1,400 for the 151st Anniversary Re-enactment of the Battle of Marks’ Mills

* Mosaic Templars Cultural Center in Little Rock, $280 to conserve a muster roll of the 46th United States Colored Infantry Regiment

* Reed’s Bridge Battlefield Preservation Society in Jacksonville, $2,000 for its annual event on the Bayou Meto battlefield

* Clayton House in Fort Smith, $885 for “Civil War Days in Fort Smith and the Sutton Mansion: An Earlier Clayton House Chapter”

* Clay County, $2,000 for a re-enactment of military activities at Chalk Bluff.

Civil War Sesquicentennial Grants of up to $2,000 are awarded four times per year, as funding is available. The next deadline is Friday, May 22.

Grant applications and guidelines can be downloaded at, or can be requested by writing to ACWS Grants, 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, sending an e-mail to [email protected], or calling (501) 324-9877.

Civil War Sesquicentennial Grants may be used for, but are not limited to, the following types of projects:

* Development of plans for local commemoration of the Civil War Sesquicentennial

* Speakers’ fees and materials for symposia, conferences and workshops

* Development of museum exhibits or interpretive materials related to local Civil War events

* Development of printed materials, educational software, films, or videos interpreting the Civil War in Arkansas.

For more information on sesquicentennial plans, visit or e-mail [email protected].

The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission is housed within the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program. The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Arkansas History Buffalo National River Mid-Century Modern Architecture Flood Control Arkansas Design Network National Register of Historic Let Freedom Ring National Historic Landmark North Little Rock Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops historic telephone booth African American education Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot American Legion Camden to Washington Road free history tours Houston Arkansas 13th Amendment Arkansas History Lesson Plans Montgomery County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins historic Arkansas properties Sunken Lands U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Huntsville Arkansas downtown economic development Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Railroad History Turner Restoration Arkansas Register of Historic Places Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Humanities Council Newton County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Skillern House Rustic Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Free Lesson Plan Miller County Monroe County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas religious history Polk County Arkansas Duck Hunting New Century Club of Camden Arkansas African American Civil War History U.S. Forest Service Craftsman style architecture Madison County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture slipcover removal grants Sandwiching in History "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Real Estate Transfer Tax Pope County Courthouse 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Poinsett County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Prairie County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Cumberland Presbyterian Church Cemetery Preservation Library Marked Tree Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Forrest City Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Destination Downtown Conference Booneville Historical Preservation Society Pope County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Main Street Texarkana Civil Works Administration Barney Elias House Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Conway County Library Free Courthouse Poster cemetery preservsation free teacher resources Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Saline County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Forrest City Cemetery Folk Victorian Architecture Freedom Park Burdette Arkansas cemetery preservation Rosenwald Schools steel window restoration workshop Three States Lumber Company Downtown Revitalization Grants News Release Arkansas Historic Preservation Roe Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Helena Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Doddridge Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Delta Cultural Center Mississippi Main Street Association Fayetteville Arkansas Burdette Plantation Kiblah School White County Courthouse Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas Business History Ozark Farming Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Trail of Tears in Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District St. Francis County Historical Society National Register of Historic Places Phillips County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax County courthouse Restoration Grants Freedmen's Bureau Main Street Batesville Nevada County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation most endangered historic places Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Elias Camp Morris Tolbert Gill Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Pike County Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Historic Preservation Alliance Little Rock Central High School Civilian Conservation Corps Louisiana Main Street program downtown revitalization Main Street Searcy Abolition of Slavery Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Historic County Courthouses Edgar Monsanto Queeny Camden Arkansas Benton Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Walks Through History Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Wingmead Monroe County Courthouse Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Camden Public Library Dionicio Rodriguez Art Deco Architecture Main Street Siloam Springs historic resort communities International-Style Architecture Main Street Arkansas historic architecture Booneville Arkansas Paris Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program