Arkansas Historic Film Prize Winners Announced

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, April 30, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–A team of Fayetteville High School students won the grand prize in the first annual Arkansas Historic Film Prize competition of short documentaries focusing on historic properties throughout the state, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Darcy Olmstead, Caroline Wetsell, Maggie Bell and Joshua Carpenter of Fayetteville were the grand prize winners for their film on the Headquarters House. Their film, along with other prize-winning works, will be shown at 6 p.m. on Friday, May 22, at the Ron Robinson Theater at 100 River Market Avenue in Little Rock. The free event is open to the public.

Other Arkansas Historic Film Prize winners were:

* First Prize – Austin Chitmon and Chanse Harp of Bentonville High School for “Battle of Prairie Grove”

* Second Prize – Jordan Thompson of the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts for “Our Forgotten Lady” (Hot Springs’ Majestic Hotel)

* Third Prize (tie) – Kelton McCarthy, Zaid Martinez and Andrew Trice of Fayetteville High School for “History of FHS” and Gracia Robison of Dardanelle High School for “Mount Nebo State Park”

* Fourth Prize – Tanis Taft of Conway High School for “Simon Brothers Dairy Farm.”

The Arkansas Historic Film Prize is sponsored by the AHPP and the Arkansas Humanities Council in partnership with the Arkansas Educational Television Network’s “Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase.”

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 News Release Erbie Arkansas Houston Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Pike County Courthouse Madison County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Montgomery County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Polk County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Civil Works Administration historic telephone booth Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Pike County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery North Little Rock Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Russellville Arkansas downtown economic development Arkansas History Bogg Springs Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Abolition of Slavery Miller County Little Rock Central High School free teacher resources Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola historic Arkansas properties Arkansas Design Network Burdette Plantation Freedom Park Phillips County Arkansas Turner Restoration Bogg Springs Hotel Booneville Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Tudor Revival Architecture Henry Koen Office Building Roe Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants St. Francis County Historical Society Pulaski County Courthouse Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Dr. Ruth Hawkins Monroe County Courthouse International-Style Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas Humanities Council Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Freedmen's Bureau Clarendon Arkansas Duck Hunting Pope County Courthouse Main Street Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Dumas free history tours Cumberland Presbyterian Church Sandwiching in History Benton Arkansas Camden Public Library Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Business History Booneville Historical Preservation Society Main Street Siloam Springs Mississippi County Arkansas Kiblah School Main Street Searcy most endangered historic places Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Folk Victorian Architecture Main Street Texarkana Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut historic resort communities Free Courthouse Poster historic architecture 19th Century Road Construction Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Cemetery Preservation Library Ozark Farming Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Railroad History Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Trail of Tears in Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Elias Camp Morris Wingmead Rosston Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places National Historic Landmark Main Street Ozark Arkansas African American Civil War History free historic preservation workshop cemetery preservation Craftsman style architecture Paris Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Main Street Batesville steel window restoration workshop Historic Preservation Alliance Mid-Century Modern Architecture Saline County Arkansas Arkansas religious history cemetery preservsation U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South U.S. Forest Service "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants downtown revitalization Three States Lumber Company Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Sunken Lands County courthouse Restoration Grants Conway County Library Prairie County Arkansas White County Courthouse Helena Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation 13th Amendment Camden to Washington Road Marked Tree Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Let Freedom Ring National Register of Historic New Century Club of Camden Poinsett County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Flood Control Fayetteville Arkansas slipcover removal grants Mississippi Main Street Association Camden Arkansas Skillern House Delta Cultural Center Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Real Estate Transfer Tax Historic County Courthouses Rosenwald Schools American Legion Naturalistic Architecture Nevada County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Louisiana Main Street program Civilian Conservation Corps African American education Huntsville Arkansas Buffalo National River Tolbert Gill Ouachita County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Barney Elias House Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Pope County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Walks Through History Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Monroe County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez