Arkansas National Register Nominees State Board to Meet

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, March 26, 2019


Arkansas National Register Nominees

The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider 16 Arkansas properties in 12 counties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places when it meets at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, April 3, at the Arkansas State University offices at 501 Woodlane Drive in Little Rock, AHPP Director Scott Kaufman announced today.

The properties being considered for nomination to the National Register are:

  • National Old Line Insurance Company Building in Little Rock, Pulaski County, a 1953-1954 and 1965 International-style office building.
  • Arkansas Territorial Restoration Historic District in Little Rock, Pulaski County, a district significant as an early historic preservation project in the state.
  • Empire Life Insurance Company of America Building in Little Rock, Pulaski County, a notable example of the International style designed by Wittenberg, Delony and Davidson, and built in 1959-1960.
  • Morris House in Lonoke, Lonoke County, a large-scale Mid-Century Modern house built in 1963 and designed by architect Fred Perkins.
  • Central Avenue Historic District Additional Documentation in Hot Springs, Garland County, an update to the National Register nomination for the Central Avenue Historic District.
  • Mt. Olive Cemetery in the Mount Vernon vic., White County, an 1890s African-American cemetery that is still used for burials today.
  • Museum of Automobiles in the Winrock vic., Conway County, a 1964 building by architect Dietrich Neyland that employs an unusual tensile cable structural system.
  • Norwood House in Russellville, Pope County, a 1917 house with Prairie and Craftsman-style characteristics.
  • Jonesboro United States Post Office and Courthouse in Jonesboro, Craighead County, a 1913 post office building designed in the Renaissance style.
  • Temple Beth El Cemetery in Helena-West Helena, Phillips County, a cemetery significant for its associations with Helena’s Jewish community.
  • R. A. Pickens, II, House in Pickens, Desha County, a c.1940 Colonial Revival-style house.
  • Yadkin Church in the Ravenden Springs vic., Randolph County, a c.1894 one-room church that is one of the last vestiges of the Yadkin community.
  • Our Lady of the Ozarks Shrine in the Winslow vic., Crawford County, a significant Catholic pilgrimage site with a 1944 stone church..
  • Muxen Building in the Winslow vic., Crawford County, a 1940s building built to serve as a craft school for local residents.
  • Ben Johnson, II, Homestead District in Fayetteville, Washington County, an early-twentieth-century fruit farm.
  • Ellis Building in Fayetteville, Washington County, a c.1923 automobile sales and service building.

In addition, the State Review Board will also consider the Murphy-Jeffries Building in Little Rock, Gillham School in Gillham, and the Heffelfinger-Freund House in Fayettevillefor nomination to the Arkansas Register.


Recent Posts


Civilian Conservation Corps Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Pope County Arkansas National Register of Historic Monroe County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Historic Preservation Alliance Downtown Revitalization Grants Folk Victorian Architecture Gothic Revival architecture Buffalo National River Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Polk County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Naturalistic Architecture Flood Control American Legion Burdette Plantation Saline County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas Design Network St. Francis County Historical Society Forrest City Cemetery Free Courthouse Poster Montgomery County Courthouse Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery White County Courthouse "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Art Deco Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Main Street Dumas North Little Rock Arkansas downtown economic development Perry County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Sandwiching in History Camden to Washington Road Russellville Arkansas downtown revitalization Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas religious history Freedom Park Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Conway County Library Pike County Arkansas Tolbert Gill Dionicio Rodriguez U.S. Forest Service free teacher resources Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Civil Works Administration Walks Through History Phillips County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Sunken Lands Huntsville Commercial Historic District County courthouse Restoration Grants historic resort communities Prairie County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Rosston Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Arkansas Preservation Awards Pike County Courthouse Mid-Century Modern Architecture Benton Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Abolition of Slavery Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Rustic Architecture steel window restoration workshop Camden Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Booneville Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Burdette Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Poinsett County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Business History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Monsanto Chemical Corporation Craftsman style architecture Louisiana Main Street program Little Rock Central High School Mississippi Main Street Association 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Erbie Arkansas Houston Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas History 13th Amendment Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History cemetery preservsation Leake-Ingham Building slipcover removal grants Let Freedom Ring Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Ozark Cemetery Preservation Library Ouachita County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans National Register of Historic Places Camden Public Library Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Huntsville Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola free historic preservation workshop International-Style Architecture Main Street Siloam Springs Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Rosenwald Schools Bogg Springs Arkansas Skillern House African American education Turner Restoration Wingmead Nevada County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Barney Elias House Historic County Courthouses Destination Downtown Conference New Century Club of Camden Paris Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax News Release National Historic Landmark Edgar Monsanto Queeny Evelyn Gill Walker House Morrilton Arkansas most endangered historic places Booneville Historical Preservation Society Henry Koen Office Building Fayetteville Arkansas cemetery preservation Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Helena Arkansas Kiblah School historic architecture Freedmen's Bureau historic Arkansas properties Duck Hunting Ozark Farming Montgomery County Arkansas free history tours Miller County Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Main Street Batesville Renaissance Revival Architecture Clarendon Arkansas historic telephone booth Monroe County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas