Arkansas Properties on the National Register of Historic Places: Pike County Courthouse, Murfreesboro

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, February 09, 2015

The Pike County Courthouse at Murfreesboro was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on October 16, 1986. You can read this and other Arkansas National Register nominations at


Located on the Murfreesboro court square, the Pike County Courthouse was constructed in 1932 with funds obtained through a bond issue of fifty-thousand dollars. Employing the finest architects, the structure was built upon the site of three former courthouses. The town’s business district grew to surround this site where Pike County’s political and governmental activity took place. Due to its role in community planning, politics, and government and as the only Art Deco style structure in the area the Pike County Courthouse is an important representative of the history of Pike County.


Built in 1932 at a cost of forty-five thousand six-hundred dollars, the Pike County Courthouse is the fourth structure to serve the area at the county government level.

Pike County was created by an act of the State Legislature in 1833 with the temporary county seat fixed at the home of Pascal C. Sorrells in the town of Zebulon. At a location near where the present structure stands the town built a log courthouse when the town changed its name to Murfreesboro in 1836. In the spring of 1855 the log structure burned, along with all county records to that date. The next courthouse, built in 1856 by contractors Moses and Jackson Brock, was a two-story frame building surmounted by a cupola. In 1895 the frame structure burned along with all records. The second courthouse was replaced by a two-story brick building constructed in 1897 and served the county until it was razed in 1932 to make way for the present structure.

Construction of the Art Deco building was funded through a fifty-thousand dollar bond issue. After its passage the architectural firm of Witt, Siebert and Halsey of Texarkana, Arkansas, was employed to draw plans. In the October 23, 1931, issue of the “Pike County Courier” it was reported that a bid offered by contractors May and Sharp had been accepted and the building reached completion in March of 1932.

Art Deco-inspired courthouses are built throughout the 1930’s in Arkansas. An Art Deco Courthouse much like the Pike County Courthouse stands in the town of DeQueen in Sevier County. Excepting later additions to the Sevier County Courthouse the floor plan is the same as the courthouse in Murfreesboro.

Due to the Pike County Courthouse’s role in county government, its historic location and its distinctive Art Deco Style, the Pike County Courthouse is an important representative of Pike County’s heritage.


Pike County Courier, October 23, 1931, p. 1.

Mr. Hastings Boyd, born July 19, 1910, in Murfreesboro where he now lives.

Recent Posts


Pike County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Three States Lumber Company Nevada County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School County courthouse Restoration Grants Duck Hunting Perry County Arkansas Arkansas religious history White County Courthouse Historic County Courthouses Doddridge Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Skillern House Arkansas Business History Fayetteville Arkansas American Legion Arkansas Railroad History Russellville Arkansas Main Street Batesville Ozark Farming Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Pulaski County Courthouse Freedom Park historic resort communities Helena Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Morrilton Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture News Release Flood Control St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Kiblah School Sunken Lands Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Main Street Texarkana Booneville Arkansas Main Street Searcy Freedmen's Bureau cemetery preservation Centennial Baptist Church Mississippi Main Street Association Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Art Deco Architecture Louisiana Main Street program Poinsett County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Main Street Dumas Civilian Conservation Corps Downtown Revitalization Grants Civil Works Administration Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Elias Camp Morris Free Courthouse Poster U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Dr. Ruth Hawkins Cemetery Preservation Library Huntsville Commercial Historic District Historic Preservation Alliance National Register of Historic Arkansas Design Network Gothic Revival architecture Paris Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction steel window restoration workshop Wingmead Rosston Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas downtown revitalization Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House historic architecture African American education Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Siloam Springs Cumberland Presbyterian Church historic telephone booth Arkansas Register of Historic Places Delta Cultural Center Let Freedom Ring Arkansas History Forrest City Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Evelyn Gill Walker House free teacher resources Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Historic Preservation Rosenwald Schools Naturalistic Architecture U.S. Forest Service Sandwiching in History Dionicio Rodriguez Madison County Arkansas Tolbert Gill Mississippi County Arkansas Camden Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Destination Downtown Conference Buffalo National River Main Street Ozark Real Estate Transfer Tax Camden Public Library Trail of Tears in Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery 13th Amendment Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Edgar Monsanto Queeny Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Benton Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Renaissance Revival Architecture Pope County Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Rustic Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Ouachita County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Bogg Springs Hotel Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Pike County Courthouse slipcover removal grants Roe Arkansas Turner Restoration free history tours most endangered historic places Monroe County Courthouse Miller County National Historic Landmark Burdette Plantation International-Style Architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Newton County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Conway County Library Mid-Century Modern Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas Preservation Awards North Little Rock Arkansas cemetery preservsation "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Barney Elias House downtown economic development Walks Through History Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Erbie Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Free Lesson Plan free historic preservation workshop Tudor Revival Architecture National Register of Historic Places 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas History Lesson Plans