Boyd Named Interim Director at AHPP

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, January 23, 2017

Stacy Hurst, director of the Department of Arkansas Heritage (DAH), announced new leadership at the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP).

Marian Boyd, who had been serving as interim director at the Arkansas Arts Council, will be moving to the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program as interim.

Hurst accepted the resignation of Frances “Missy” McSwain, who was director of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program. Her last day with the agency will be March 15. Until then, she will advise and assist in the transition.

"Missy has led the agency with distinction since 2009 and served as a knowledgeable resource for me as I learned the role and responsibilities of the State Historic Preservation Officer. I appreciate her many years of service and wish her well in her new endeavors,” said Hurst.

“I have thoroughly enjoyed leading the state agency devoted to protecting Arkansas’s historic properties,” said McSwain. “Having a role in helping protect some of our state’s most important treasures has been very gratifying for me personally and professionally, and I look forward to a smooth transition.”

Marian Boyd has been interim director of AAC since August, after the retirement of former director Joy Pennington. She has worked at DAH for more than 25 years, previously serving as assistant director of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program and the director of Main Street Arkansas. She has made presentations and provided technical assistance through the National Trust’s Main Street Center to downtown programs in 15 states. She was a founding member of the National Main Street Center’s National Executive Board. She is a graduate of the Arkansas Community Development Institute and is a Certified Volunteer Manager through the Arkansas Public Administration Consortium. Boyd earned a bachelor of business administration with a marketing emphasis from the University of Central Arkansas.

The eight agencies of the Department of Arkansas Heritage are Delta Cultural Center, Historic Arkansas Museum, Old State House Museum, Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, Arkansas Arts Council, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Houston Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Flood Control Forrest City Cemetery Mississippi County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Ouachita County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Three States Lumber Company Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Fayetteville Arkansas Kiblah School Gothic Revival architecture Louisiana Main Street program Booneville Historical Preservation Society Burdette Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas slipcover removal grants Sunken Lands Paris Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops downtown revitalization Tolbert Gill International-Style Architecture "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Huntsville Arkansas Burdette Plantation Historic County Courthouses Montgomery County Courthouse White County Courthouse Nevada County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Craftsman style architecture Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas History Folk Victorian Architecture most endangered historic places Freedom Park National Historic Landmark Phillips County Arkansas Conway County Library Abolition of Slavery Bogg Springs Hotel Bogg Springs Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District historic Arkansas properties downtown economic development Pike County Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Booneville Arkansas free historic preservation workshop North Little Rock Arkansas Duck Hunting Erbie Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Delta Cultural Center Main Street Ozark Trail of Tears in Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Business History Elias Camp Morris free teacher resources Main Street Arkansas Walks Through History Central High School Neighborhood Historic District cemetery preservsation Skillern House New Century Club of Camden Dr. Ruth Hawkins Helena Arkansas News Release Arkansas Railroad History Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas Register of Historic Places Free Courthouse Poster U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Ozark Farming Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Real Estate Transfer Tax St. Francis County Historical Society Mid-Century Modern Architecture Miller County Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Main Street Batesville Forrest City Arkansas cemetery preservation Downtown Revitalization Grants 19th Century Road Construction Montgomery County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Newton County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Marked Tree Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Huntsville Commercial Historic District Mississippi Main Street Association Pope County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Let Freedom Ring Saline County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Cumberland Presbyterian Church Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Tudor Revival Architecture Cemetery Preservation Library historic telephone booth historic architecture Wingmead Monroe County Arkansas Camden Public Library Rustic Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History County courthouse Restoration Grants Prairie County Arkansas Camden Arkansas American Legion National Register of Historic Places Main Street Texarkana Buffalo National River Clarendon Arkansas Barney Elias House historic resort communities Dionicio Rodriguez 13th Amendment Rosenwald Schools Marked Tree Lock and Siphons U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Renaissance Revival Architecture Freedmen's Bureau Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Art Deco Architecture Camden to Washington Road Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas Humanities Council Free Lesson Plan Rosston Arkansas African American education Main Street Searcy Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Civilian Conservation Corps Sandwiching in History Roe Arkansas steel window restoration workshop National Register of Historic free history tours Turner Restoration Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Preservation Awards Monsanto Chemical Corporation Pike County Courthouse Arkansas religious history Pope County Courthouse Arkansas History Lesson Plans Main Street Dumas Perry County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Design Network