Camp Chaffee Expansion Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, May 12, 2015

LITTLE ROCK—An expansion of the Camp Chaffee Historic District at Fort Smith in Sebastian County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Director Frances McSwain announced today.

The Camp Chaffee addition adds nine contributing buildings and one contributing structure to the existing Camp Chaffee Historic District in an area bounded roughly by Ward Avenue, a railroad spur, Taylor Avenue and Terry Street.

“The Post Headquarter area along with the other affiliated buildings provides an opportunity to explain military history to those that come to see what is left of what was Camp Chaffee and later Fort Chaffee,” according to the National Register nomination. “With the divisions serving in all magnitudes of military and social life throughout the Camp Chaffee area, it is easy to see the history start to fade, as Camp Chaffee is lost in the record books. Thus keeping the barracks and other buildings associated with the life of a soldier during World War II only helps continue to maintain the military heritage that the area around Fort Chaffee has been living since 1817.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Huntsville Arkansas Miller County Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Historic Preservation Camden Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Main Street Siloam Springs Sandwiching in History Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Dumas free history tours Dr. Ruth Hawkins Main Street Batesville Montgomery County Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Monroe County Courthouse Morrilton Arkansas National Register of Historic Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Poinsett County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Pope County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Prairie County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Mid-Century Modern Architecture Sunken Lands Trail of Tears in Arkansas 13th Amendment Russellville Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Art Deco Architecture Main Street Texarkana U.S. Forest Service Rosston Arkansas downtown economic development Clarendon Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Leake-Ingham Building Edgar Monsanto Queeny U.S. Army Corps of Engineers most endangered historic places Folk Victorian Architecture Montgomery County Courthouse Nevada County Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture historic Arkansas properties Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Three States Lumber Company White County Courthouse free historic preservation workshop steel window restoration workshop Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Pike County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture historic telephone booth Arkansas Humanities Council Forrest City Arkansas Civil Works Administration Marked Tree Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Main Street Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas History Lesson Plans 19th Century Road Construction Destination Downtown Conference Freedom Park Evelyn Gill Walker House Paris Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Pulaski County Courthouse Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Craftsman style architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Fayetteville Arkansas Wingmead Barney Elias House Elias Camp Morris Duck Hunting Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Railroad History Historic Preservation Alliance Rustic Architecture African American education Booneville Historical Preservation Society Henry Koen Office Building cemetery preservsation Pope County Courthouse "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Camden to Washington Road Perry County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Ouachita County Arkansas Camden Public Library Flood Control Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Helena Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas International-Style Architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Bogg Springs Hotel Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Roe Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Burdette Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission St. Francis County Historical Society Little Rock Central High School Polk County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Newton County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Benton Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Centennial Baptist Church historic architecture Let Freedom Ring American Legion North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Business History Skillern House Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Kiblah School Arkansas Preservation Awards Renaissance Revival Architecture Turner Restoration Pike County Courthouse Tolbert Gill Buffalo National River Walks Through History Cemetery Preservation Library Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot historic resort communities Arkansas religious history Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas News Release Phillips County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Mississippi Main Street Association Ozark Farming Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas History Forrest City Cemetery Madison County Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Erbie Arkansas Burdette Plantation Rosenwald Schools Cumberland Presbyterian Church Houston Arkansas New Century Club of Camden slipcover removal grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas Register of Historic Places Real Estate Transfer Tax cemetery preservation Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Naturalistic Architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District downtown revitalization Conway County Library Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House free teacher resources Freedmen's Bureau