Certified Local Government Grants Awarded

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Nearly $100,000 in Certified Local Government (CLG) grants have been awarded to eight Arkansas cities. CLG Grants represent a partnership between the National Park Service (NPS), the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP), and local governments around the state to preserve historic resources at the local level. These grants are specifically pass-through grants funded by the Historic Preservation Fund Grants-In-Aid program, which is administered by the National Park Service, Department of the Interior.
“We are so pleased to support these communities in their preservation efforts,” said Stacy Hurst, state historic preservation officer and director of the Department of Arkansas Heritage. “Arkansas has nearly 100 Historic Districts and their work to conserve historic structures today is creating a lasting legacy for future generations who will no doubt be filled with a sense of pride when seeing their community’s architectural history.”

An Arkansas city or county is eligible to participate in the CLG program if it has appointed a Historic District Commission (HDC) and has passed a local preservation ordinance designating one or more local historic districts, according to applicable state law.
The awarded cities include:

  • Conway: $25,000, for a city-wide preservation plan ($25,000 match).
  • El Dorado:$43,300, for a city-wide preservation plan, historic preservation officer’s salary, preservation organization memberships and training-related travel for HDC commissioners and staff ($12,000 match).
  • Eureka Springs: $5,650, for training-related travel for staff and HDC commissioners, an informational brochure on the historic district commission, and preservation organization memberships ($2,375 match).
  • Fayetteville:Up to $790,for training-related travel expenses of staff and commissioners.
  • Helena-W. Helena: $5,825, for an historic preservation officer’s salary, training-related travel, and equipment and supplies for scanning historic property records.
  • Little Rock:$9,200, for funding of the second and final phase of a survey of the Broadmoor subdivision, research help and scanning of slides in support of a historic structures GIS project, and attendance at training opportunities by staff and commissioners ($14,000 match).
  • Texarkana:$2,290.02,for training-related travel expenses for staff and commissioners, an informational brochure on historic sites, and purchase of educational materials for commissioners.
  • Van Buren:$2,030, for training-related travel for commissioners and staff.

Click here to view a list of Historic Districts visit.


Recent Posts


free history tours steel window restoration workshop Leake-Ingham Building 19th Century Road Construction Louisiana Main Street program Turner Restoration Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Naturalistic Architecture downtown economic development County courthouse Restoration Grants Walks Through History Montgomery County Courthouse cemetery preservsation Mississippi Main Street Association Elias Camp Morris Camden Public Library American Legion Gothic Revival architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Paris Arkansas Burdette Plantation Ouachita County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Tudor Revival Architecture Roe Arkansas New Century Club of Camden historic telephone booth Monroe County Courthouse Erbie Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Business History Arkansas African American Civil War History Duck Hunting Sandwiching in History Miller County 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation free teacher resources Huntsville Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Booneville Historical Preservation Society Main Street Siloam Springs Free Lesson Plan Cemetery Preservation Library Houston Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas White County Courthouse Buffalo National River Real Estate Transfer Tax Monroe County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture historic resort communities Craftsman style architecture Arkansas religious history Newton County Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Bogg Springs Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Humanities Council Nevada County Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Morrilton Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation free historic preservation workshop Evelyn Gill Walker House historic Arkansas properties Civil Works Administration Skillern House Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Barney Elias House Rustic Architecture 13th Amendment Art Deco Architecture Rosenwald Schools Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Three States Lumber Company Prairie County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Dionicio Rodriguez Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Main Street Searcy Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Polk County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Freedom Park Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Camden Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Main Street Arkansas Main Street Dumas African American education News Release Freedmen's Bureau Abolition of Slavery Delta Cultural Center Conway County Library Camden to Washington Road Flood Control Edgar Monsanto Queeny Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Centennial Baptist Church International-Style Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Railroad History National Register of Historic Places Helena Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel slipcover removal grants Wingmead Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Sunken Lands Let Freedom Ring "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Tolbert Gill Montgomery County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Main Street Batesville Benton Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Mid-Century Modern Architecture Pope County Courthouse Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Ozark Farming Madison County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Clarendon Arkansas Little Rock Central High School U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Arkansas Design Network downtown revitalization Rosston Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Forrest City Cemetery Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas History most endangered historic places Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Register of Historic Places St. Francis County Historical Society Cumberland Presbyterian Church Booneville Arkansas historic architecture National Historic Landmark Historic Preservation Alliance Main Street Texarkana North Little Rock Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Forrest City Arkansas cemetery preservation National Register of Historic Folk Victorian Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Kiblah School