Darragh Building Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, September 14, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The Darragh Building at Little Rock in Pulaski County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The Darragh Building at 1403 East 6th Street was designed by Noland Blass, Jr., of the Erhart, Eichenbaum, Rauch, & Blass firm in 1958.

“The Darragh family and Noland Blass, Jr. were a part of the civic community of Little Rock through the decades of the mid-20th century,” according to the National Register nomination. “This is one possible explanation for why Noland Blass, Jr. was selected by the Darragh Company to design a new corporate office headquarters for the prosperous company. This office, which still exists and is now called the Darragh Building, is a prime example of the Modernistic Style of architecture, popular during a period that began in the 1930s and lasted through the 1960s.”

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


National Historic Landmark free history tours Wingmead Monsanto Chemical Corporation free teacher resources Mid-Century Modern Architecture Prairie County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Barney Elias House Booneville Historical Preservation Society "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Monroe County Courthouse Freedmen's Bureau Rosston Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Trail of Tears in Arkansas Duck Hunting Forrest City Cemetery Paris Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Skillern House Montgomery County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas History Downtown Revitalization Grants Madison County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Historic Preservation Alliance Marked Tree Arkansas Houston Arkansas downtown revitalization Conway County Library Arkansas Business History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Doddridge Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Tolbert Gill Turner Restoration Arkansas African American Civil War History Booneville Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Folk Victorian Architecture Edgar Monsanto Queeny Main Street Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Freedom Park Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Preservation Awards Camden Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Free Lesson Plan American Legion Poinsett County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Destination Downtown Conference Monroe County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas Railroad History Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Historic Preservation Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Sandwiching in History Burdette Plantation Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas religious history Huntsville Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Huntsville Commercial Historic District Ozark Farming Let Freedom Ring Bogg Springs Hotel Dr. Ruth Hawkins Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Main Street Siloam Springs Historic County Courthouses Ouachita County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Perry County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center African American education Nevada County Arkansas 13th Amendment County courthouse Restoration Grants International-Style Architecture Craftsman style architecture Naturalistic Architecture 19th Century Road Construction Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot most endangered historic places historic resort communities North Little Rock Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas History Lesson Plans Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Civilian Conservation Corps Helena Arkansas Main Street Ozark Sunken Lands Erbie Arkansas Main Street Dumas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Pike County Courthouse historic telephone booth Pike County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Roe Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Register of Historic Places Evelyn Gill Walker House historic architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Gothic Revival architecture National Register of Historic Main Street Batesville Main Street Searcy Henry Koen Office Building Forrest City Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Buffalo National River Pope County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Newton County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Flood Control Pope County Courthouse News Release Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery National Register of Historic Places Camden to Washington Road downtown economic development Three States Lumber Company cemetery preservsation Miller County Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Saline County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Pulaski County Courthouse Mississippi County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Camden Public Library Civil Works Administration Art Deco Architecture Tudor Revival Architecture Kiblah School cemetery preservation White County Courthouse Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Walks Through History Morrilton Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association free historic preservation workshop Dionicio Rodriguez 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Burdette Arkansas Rustic Architecture Phillips County Arkansas slipcover removal grants