Destination Downtown Conference Set for Eureka Springs

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, July 09, 2018

Main Street Arkansas, the Mississippi Main Street Association and the Louisiana Main Street program will sponsor Destination Downtown 2018 in Eureka Springs September 9-12. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program.

Destination Downtown is a regional conference for those interested in preservation-based commercial district revitalization and is targeted toward Main Street directors, board members and volunteers as well as architects, planners, economic development professionals, public officials and consultants. Most of the sessions will be held at the Basin Park Hotel in Eureka Springs.

General registration is $125 until August 10 and $150 afterward. To register or for more information visit More information is also available by contacting [email protected]

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic vitality, organization and promotion.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are the Argenta Downtown Council, Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, the Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena-West Helena, Jonesboro, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Pine Bluff, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Hardy, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Newport, Paris, Forrest City, Malvern, Pocahontas, Hope, Mena and Prairie Grove. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are Preserve Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Perry County Arkansas Kiblah School Central High School Neighborhood Historic District St. Francis County Historical Society Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Pope County Courthouse Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Newton County Arkansas Wingmead Doddridge Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery historic Arkansas properties American Legion Bogg Springs Hotel cemetery preservsation Madison County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission National Register of Historic Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops slipcover removal grants Turner Restoration 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas Historic Preservation historic resort communities Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas downtown revitalization African American education Main Street Dumas steel window restoration workshop free history tours free teacher resources Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Louisiana Main Street program Forrest City Cemetery Houston Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Folk Victorian Architecture historic architecture Delta Cultural Center Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Ozark Burdette Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Ouachita County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Rustic Architecture Roe Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Tudor Revival Architecture Leake-Ingham Building Booneville Historical Preservation Society Conway County Library Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Design Network Arkansas History North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Naturalistic Architecture Main Street Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Skillern House National Historic Landmark Walks Through History White County Courthouse New Century Club of Camden Civilian Conservation Corps Civil Works Administration Rosenwald Schools Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Phillips County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Mid-Century Modern Architecture Huntsville Commercial Historic District Poinsett County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Freedom Park Huntsville Arkansas Pope County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Monroe County Courthouse Monsanto Chemical Corporation downtown economic development Erbie Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Free Lesson Plan Russellville Arkansas Main Street Searcy Evelyn Gill Walker House Flood Control Arkansas Business History Fayetteville Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Pulaski County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance Little Rock Central High School most endangered historic places Bogg Springs Arkansas Miller County Forrest City Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Benton Arkansas Burdette Plantation Booneville Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference 13th Amendment Helena Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Real Estate Transfer Tax Sandwiching in History Barney Elias House County courthouse Restoration Grants Elias Camp Morris Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Marked Tree Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas International-Style Architecture Cemetery Preservation Library Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Batesville Duck Hunting Camden Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Sunken Lands Polk County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Ozark Farming Free Courthouse Poster Historic County Courthouses Let Freedom Ring Pike County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Tolbert Gill Cumberland Presbyterian Church Downtown Revitalization Grants Freedmen's Bureau 19th Century Road Construction U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Montgomery County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Humanities Council Rosston Arkansas Buffalo National River cemetery preservation Morrilton Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Main Street Siloam Springs Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Preservation Awards Three States Lumber Company News Release Montgomery County Courthouse Paris Arkansas historic telephone booth Arkansas religious history Camden to Washington Road Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Main Street Texarkana Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas History Lesson Plans Camden Public Library