Dr. Patrick House Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, February 16, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The Dr. James Patrick House at Fayetteville in Washington County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Interim Director Marian Boyd announced today.

The Dr. James Patrick House at 370 North Williams Drive is a Mid-Century Modern-style building constructed in 1965 from a design by architect Ernie Jacks.

“The design of the Dr. James Patrick House also reflects the increased relationship between the indoors and outdoors, as well as the issue of privacy in house design,” according to the National Register nomination. “The design of the Patrick House, with its sliding glass doors opening onto the rear terraces, and large windows along the terrace façades, encouraged residents and visitors to interact with the house’s surroundings. The placement of the large windows away from the street also emphasized privacy for the house’s occupants from the street.”

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Historic County Courthouses 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas History Lesson Plans historic telephone booth Freedom Park Main Street Siloam Springs Rosenwald Schools Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Duck Hunting Main Street Searcy Renaissance Revival Architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Register of Historic Places Wingmead Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas African American Civil War History Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum free history tours Arkansas Humanities Council Monroe County Arkansas downtown economic development most endangered historic places Naturalistic Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Benton Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Booneville Arkansas National Register of Historic Camden to Washington Road Main Street Texarkana "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants White County Courthouse Monroe County Courthouse Camden Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Paris Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Free Lesson Plan Montgomery County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster cemetery preservsation cemetery preservation Three States Lumber Company U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Freedmen's Bureau Prairie County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas 13th Amendment Arkansas Design Network Pope County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Mosaic Templars Cultural Center North Little Rock Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Cemetery Preservation Library Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Madison County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building National Historic Landmark Bogg Springs Hotel New Century Club of Camden Houston Arkansas slipcover removal grants National Register of Historic Places Montgomery County Courthouse historic architecture Main Street Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax U.S. Forest Service Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Mississippi County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Abolition of Slavery free teacher resources Nevada County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Downtown Revitalization Grants Booneville Historical Preservation Society Pulaski County Courthouse Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Dumas Erbie Arkansas Buffalo National River Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Historic Preservation Alliance Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Helena Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Rosston Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Civil Works Administration Arkansas Railroad History Let Freedom Ring Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Centennial Baptist Church Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Barney Elias House Sandwiching in History Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas Business History Phillips County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Delta Cultural Center Kiblah School Tolbert Gill Arkansas Preservation Awards Miller County Arkansas religious history St. Francis County Historical Society Burdette Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Skillern House Tudor Revival Architecture International-Style Architecture News Release Arkansas History 19th Century Road Construction Elias Camp Morris Sunken Lands Russellville Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Bogg Springs Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Marked Tree Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Destination Downtown Conference Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Ozark Pike County Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse African American education Camden Public Library Craftsman style architecture Walks Through History Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Ozark Farming Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Saline County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Turner Restoration Dr. Ruth Hawkins Conway County Library Rustic Architecture downtown revitalization American Legion Huntsville Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Folk Victorian Architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Flood Control historic resort communities Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Louisiana Main Street program Fayetteville Arkansas Main Street Batesville