Elias, Skillern Houses Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, February 13, 2019

The Barney L. Elias House at 335 Goshen Avenue is a 1949 structure designed with a combination of the Art Deco and International styles of architecture. “Built in 1949, this house pre-dates the explosion of modernist designs in Arkansas during the 1950s, inspired in part by the creation of the new Architecture Department at the University of Arkansas,” according to the National Register nomination. “This house was designed and built with new construction methods including the use of poured concrete and metal windows. The house completely disregards many of the more traditional residential forms and instead relies on large flat planes of brick to create a very modernist aesthetic, especially on the front façade.”

The Skillern House at 3470 East Skillern Road was built in 1904-05 and designed in the Folk Victorian style of architecture. “The John Audley Skillern House was built in 1904-1905 as the residential center of an 800-acre farm in Washington County on the northeast corner of Fayetteville,” according to the National Register nomination. “The home is approximately 3,400 square feet and in the Folk Victorian Style with Queen Anne detailing. This wonderful example of a Folk Victorian home was built by John Audley Skillern, who was a noteworthy farmer and landowner in rural Washington County.”

Recent Posts


Clarendon Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Railroad History Elias Camp Morris Camden Public Library Monsanto Chemical Corporation Folk Victorian Architecture Monroe County Courthouse Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Kiblah School Forrest City Arkansas Benton Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Skillern House cemetery preservsation Huntsville Commercial Historic District free historic preservation workshop Three States Lumber Company Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Duck Hunting Rosston Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Gothic Revival architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Destination Downtown Conference News Release Leake-Ingham Building Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Free Lesson Plan U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Monroe County Arkansas Buffalo National River Cumberland Presbyterian Church Poinsett County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas downtown economic development Bogg Springs Arkansas Abolition of Slavery "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Tolbert Gill Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Tudor Revival Architecture Little Rock Central High School Saline County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Pike County Courthouse Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Renaissance Revival Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Polk County Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Main Street Batesville Paris Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas historic architecture Freedmen's Bureau Trail of Tears in Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Turner Restoration Edgar Monsanto Queeny Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Booneville Arkansas Sandwiching in History Arkansas Historic Preservation Bogg Springs Hotel Roe Arkansas Main Street Ozark most endangered historic places Montgomery County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House free teacher resources Helena Arkansas Let Freedom Ring 13th Amendment Miller County Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Flood Control Rosenwald Schools Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Register of Historic Places Camden Arkansas Main Street Dumas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Burdette Plantation Mid-Century Modern Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas African American Civil War History Civil Works Administration Arkansas State University Heritage Sites County courthouse Restoration Grants slipcover removal grants Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Humanities Council Wingmead Arkansas religious history National Register of Historic Places Conway County Library Fayetteville Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps historic telephone booth Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery National Register of Historic Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards U.S. Forest Service Houston Arkansas White County Courthouse historic resort communities Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Pulaski County Courthouse Louisiana Main Street program Centennial Baptist Church downtown revitalization Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Barney Elias House Dr. Ruth Hawkins North Little Rock Arkansas Rustic Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission free history tours Pope County Courthouse Pope County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center American Legion Naturalistic Architecture Prairie County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Mississippi Main Street Association St. Francis County Historical Society Perry County Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Russellville Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Ouachita County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas History Forrest City Cemetery Historic County Courthouses Ozark Farming Arkansas Business History Erbie Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Siloam Springs Main Street Texarkana Phillips County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Main Street Searcy African American education Sunken Lands New Century Club of Camden 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Freedom Park Huntsville Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Real Estate Transfer Tax International-Style Architecture Pike County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Walks Through History cemetery preservation Cemetery Preservation Library