Eureka Springs Cemetery Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, June 13, 2018

The Eureka Springs Cemetery at Eureka Springs in Carroll County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The Eureka Springs Cemetery, located northwest of the junction of U.S. Highway 62 and County Road 205, contains burials dating to the 1880s.

“The rural cemetery, composed of monuments of artistic and cultural significance within a designed landscape, is set against the natural beauty of the Ozark mountains,” according to the National Register nomination. “Many of the monuments can be attributed to local and regional sculptors and stonemasons. The cemetery contains excellent examples of funerary art, monument and statuary designed during the period of significance, ranging from modest marble grave markers to elaborate marble obelisks and limestone monuments. The extant resources represent changing attitudes toward death and burial practices through the period of significance. The organization and layout of the site, as well as tombstone decoration, symbolism and inscriptions provide documentation of the traditions and beliefs important to the citizens of Eureka Springs, including members of fraternal organizations and various religious denominations.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880, send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Saline County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Kiblah School historic telephone booth Rosenwald Schools Morrilton Arkansas Main Street Searcy Madison County Arkansas historic architecture Buffalo National River Houston Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Main Street Batesville Three States Lumber Company Bogg Springs Hotel Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Roe Arkansas Conway County Library Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Edgar Monsanto Queeny 13th Amendment Forrest City Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Turner Restoration Monroe County Courthouse historic Arkansas properties Destination Downtown Conference Sandwiching in History Evelyn Gill Walker House U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Pope County Courthouse Forrest City Cemetery Booneville Historical Preservation Society Marked Tree Arkansas Tolbert Gill Arkansas History Lesson Plans Freedom Park Phillips County Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Register of Historic Places Barney Elias House Little Rock Central High School News Release Arkansas History Arkansas Preservation Awards Main Street Texarkana Benton Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas Business History Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops African American education Paris Arkansas most endangered historic places Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Huntsville Arkansas National Historic Landmark Skillern House Arkansas Historic Preservation American Legion Renaissance Revival Architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot downtown economic development free history tours Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Folk Victorian Architecture Main Street Ozark Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Camden Public Library Abolition of Slavery Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Helena Arkansas Flood Control Camden Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Poinsett County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture cemetery preservsation Monroe County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Nevada County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Free Courthouse Poster Pike County Courthouse Tudor Revival Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Cemetery Preservation Library free teacher resources Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District International-Style Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Duck Hunting Dr. Ruth Hawkins Mississippi County Arkansas slipcover removal grants Rosston Arkansas historic resort communities Polk County Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Ozark Farming Perry County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Naturalistic Architecture Huntsville Commercial Historic District Elias Camp Morris Historic Preservation Alliance U.S. Forest Service free historic preservation workshop Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Miller County Delta Cultural Center Wingmead Central High School Neighborhood Historic District steel window restoration workshop Dionicio Rodriguez National Register of Historic Places Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Russellville Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Design Network Walks Through History Ouachita County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Fayetteville Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Louisiana Main Street program Burdette Plantation Prairie County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas downtown revitalization 19th Century Road Construction New Century Club of Camden Clarendon Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Real Estate Transfer Tax Henry Koen Office Building Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Mid-Century Modern Architecture cemetery preservation Sunken Lands Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Main Street Dumas St. Francis County Historical Society National Register of Historic Booneville Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Mississippi Main Street Association Historic County Courthouses Free Lesson Plan Let Freedom Ring Monsanto Chemical Corporation Camden to Washington Road Downtown Revitalization Grants White County Courthouse Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Rustic Architecture