Final 2017 Walks Through History Tour to Visit El Dorado

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, November 22, 2017

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s final 2017 “Walks Through History” tour will visit downtown El Dorado beginning at 11 a.m. on Saturday, December 9.

The business district that grew during the oil boom of the 1920s is anchored by the Union County Courthouse at the corner of Main and Washington Streets. The historic district includes the city blocks surrounding the courthouse, as well as several blocks extending east along Main Street and south along Washington Street. Other notable structures include the Exchange Bank building, which was, at nine stories, the county's first skyscraper, and the eight-story Murphy Oil building. The tour begins at the Union County Courthouse at 101 North Washington Avenue and is co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present – that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas religious history Perry County Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Civil Works Administration Henry Koen Office Building Louisiana Main Street program Civilian Conservation Corps Prairie County Arkansas Camden Public Library downtown economic development National Register of Historic Arkansas Business History Phillips County Arkansas free history tours Main Street Ozark historic telephone booth County courthouse Restoration Grants Russellville Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Walks Through History 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Barney Elias House Mid-Century Modern Architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District 19th Century Road Construction Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Real Estate Transfer Tax Pope County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Arkansas Railroad History Tolbert Gill Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Folk Victorian Architecture Miller County Sunken Lands Main Street Searcy Renaissance Revival Architecture Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Historic Preservation Program American Legion St. Francis County Historical Society Dionicio Rodriguez Huntsville Commercial Historic District Turner Restoration New Century Club of Camden Benton Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Humanities Council Naturalistic Architecture Polk County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Elias Camp Morris Nevada County Arkansas 13th Amendment Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax historic architecture Clarendon Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission National Historic Landmark Rustic Architecture downtown revitalization Trail of Tears in Arkansas White County Courthouse Huntsville Arkansas National Register of Historic Places cemetery preservsation Pike County Courthouse Poinsett County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas African American Civil War History Montgomery County Courthouse historic Arkansas properties historic resort communities Monsanto Chemical Corporation Gothic Revival architecture Main Street Texarkana Mississippi County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Design Network most endangered historic places Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Doddridge Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Centennial Baptist Church Helena Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Main Street Siloam Springs Little Rock Central High School Saline County Arkansas Wingmead Three States Lumber Company Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Rosston Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas History Bogg Springs Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Register of Historic Places Pope County Courthouse North Little Rock Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Pulaski County Courthouse Conway County Library cemetery preservation International-Style Architecture Main Street Batesville Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Burdette Arkansas Erbie Arkansas free teacher resources Burdette Plantation Freedom Park Forrest City Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Buffalo National River Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Roe Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Camden to Washington Road Bogg Springs Hotel Cumberland Presbyterian Church Monroe County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Houston Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Downtown Revitalization Grants slipcover removal grants "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants African American education Leake-Ingham Building Skillern House Flood Control Sandwiching in History Ouachita County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Duck Hunting Rosenwald Schools Camden Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Delta Cultural Center Ozark Farming Historic Preservation Alliance Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Marked Tree Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Cemetery Preservation Library Kiblah School U.S. Forest Service Craftsman style architecture Mosaic Templars Cultural Center News Release Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas History Lesson Plans Free Courthouse Poster Mississippi Main Street Association Morrilton Arkansas