First 2018 Sandwiching in History Tour to Visit First United Methodist Church

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, December 22, 2017


LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s first “Sandwiching in History” tour of 2018 will visit First United Methodist Church at 723 Center Street in Little Rock at noon on Friday, January 5.

Designed by noted Little Rock architect Frank Gibb in 1896, the First United Methodist Church is his only known commission in the Romanesque Revival style. The congregation of the First United Methodist Church was organized in 1831, making it the oldest Methodist Church in Little Rock. From 1868 to 1914 at least five other Methodist churches were established as “missions” of First Methodist, earning it the title of “Mother Church.”

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2018 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held February 2, Markham Street United Methodist Church (Faith United Methodist Church), 9820 West Markham, Little Rock; March 2, Block Realty-Couch House, 8 Armistead Road, Little Rock; April 6, Dr. Charles Kennedy House, 6 Edenwood Lane, North Little Rock; May 4, Lake Nixon, 18500 Cooper Orbit Road, Little Rock; June 1, Maumelle Ordnance Works Bunker #4, 4 Willastein Drive, Maumelle; July 6, William E. Woodruff House, 1017 East Eighth Street, Little Rock; August 3, National Old Line Building, 501 Woodlane Street, Little Rock; September 7, Matthews-Storey House, 8115 Ascension Lane, Little Rock; October 5, Rock Island Argenta Depot, 1201 East Fourth Street, North Little Rock; November 2, Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, 5021 Maryland Avenue, Little Rock, and December 7, Curran Hall, 615 East Capitol Avenue, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


Montgomery County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Humanities Council Elias Camp Morris Bogg Springs Hotel 13th Amendment Cemetery Preservation Library Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Edgar Monsanto Queeny Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Burdette Plantation Monroe County Courthouse Renaissance Revival Architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Camden Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Kiblah School Madison County Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas White County Courthouse Three States Lumber Company Arkansas Railroad History Main Street Ozark Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas History Monroe County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Main Street Batesville Art Deco Architecture Camden to Washington Road Doddridge Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Naturalistic Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Free Lesson Plan Buffalo National River Fayetteville Arkansas News Release Freedmen's Bureau Sandwiching in History 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Houston Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Turner Restoration Huntsville Commercial Historic District U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Historic Preservation Alliance Camden Public Library Louisiana Main Street program Main Street Texarkana National Register of Historic Abolition of Slavery North Little Rock Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut cemetery preservsation Trail of Tears in Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Main Street Dumas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Saline County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Duck Hunting downtown revitalization Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Dr. Ruth Hawkins Flood Control historic Arkansas properties Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Historic County Courthouses Little Rock Central High School Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Centennial Baptist Church Henry Koen Office Building Wingmead Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Rustic Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Erbie Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans County courthouse Restoration Grants Perry County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Helena Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Montgomery County Courthouse free history tours New Century Club of Camden Skillern House Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Clarendon Arkansas National Historic Landmark Polk County Arkansas Arkansas religious history Tolbert Gill "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants most endangered historic places Marked Tree Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History historic architecture Pike County Courthouse International-Style Architecture historic telephone booth Ouachita County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Ozark Farming free teacher resources free historic preservation workshop Forrest City Cemetery historic resort communities Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Delta Cultural Center Nevada County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas cemetery preservation Roe Arkansas Walks Through History Craftsman style architecture Morrilton Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Sunken Lands Pope County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Real Estate Transfer Tax African American education Arkansas Business History Free Courthouse Poster Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Conway County Library Main Street Searcy downtown economic development U.S. Forest Service Pope County Courthouse Huntsville Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Historic Preservation Barney Elias House slipcover removal grants Mississippi County Arkansas American Legion Russellville Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas Preservation Awards National Register of Historic Places Tudor Revival Architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas Miller County Destination Downtown Conference Main Street Siloam Springs Freedom Park Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Leake-Ingham Building steel window restoration workshop