Grant Workshop

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, September 17, 2019


The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) announces deadlines for the newest round of grants. These grant programs include the division’s popular county Courthouse Restoration Grants and Historic Preservation Restoration Grants.

Letters of intent are due on November 14, 2019. This is also the date of a free application workshop which will be held at the Arkansas Heritage building, 1100 North Street, Little Rock. RSVPs for the workshop are required by calling or emailing Joia Burton at 501.324.9883 or [email protected].

“If you plan to submit a grant and have not gone through the process before, I highly recommend attending the workshop put on by the grants team,” says Scott Kaufman, division director for the AHPP. “Every spring we look forward to combing through the stack of applicants and working with new grantees to see their worthy projects come to fruition.”

Additional deadlines include the Courthouse Grant application to AHPP on January 31, 2020, and the Historic Preservation Restoration Grant application due on March 6, 2020. Applicants must create a free login/password through the online portal at Winners are usually announced in June during a public ceremony.

“Announcing grants that restore the historic fabric in Arkansas communities is one of my favorite duties as Secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism,” says Stacy Hurst, who also serves as the state historic preservation officer. “As I travel through the state I get to see first-hand the impact this funding has on communities. During the last grant period we gave out more than $1.6 million in Courthouse Grants and over $800,000 in Historic Preservation Restoration Grants thanks to funding from the Real Estate Transfer Tax.”

As part of Parks, Heritage and Tourism, the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) is the division of Arkansas Heritage responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Main Street Arkansas is a program which falls under AHPP. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


"Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Pike County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Huntsville Commercial Historic District National Register of Historic Places Downtown Revitalization Grants Saline County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation White County Courthouse Arkansas Railroad History Morrilton Arkansas downtown economic development New Century Club of Camden Naturalistic Architecture Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas Design Network Dr. Ruth Hawkins Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Main Street Ozark Helena Arkansas Let Freedom Ring historic telephone booth Booneville Arkansas Sunken Lands Arkansas African American Civil War History Houston Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Register of Historic Places Little Rock Central High School Clarendon Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Elias Camp Morris Conway County Library Leake-Ingham Building 13th Amendment historic architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Sandwiching in History Poinsett County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Free Lesson Plan Fayetteville Arkansas News Release Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Evelyn Gill Walker House Freedom Park steel window restoration workshop Marked Tree Arkansas International-Style Architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Turner Restoration Montgomery County Courthouse cemetery preservation Edgar Monsanto Queeny historic Arkansas properties Main Street Batesville Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Mid-Century Modern Architecture Pike County Courthouse free teacher resources Arkansas Historic Preservation Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Paris Arkansas National Register of Historic Real Estate Transfer Tax Mississippi County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Russellville Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Main Street Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Arkansas History Rosenwald Schools Main Street Siloam Springs Tolbert Gill Madison County Arkansas Miller County most endangered historic places Gothic Revival architecture Civil Works Administration Cemetery Preservation Library Ozark Farming Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Centennial Baptist Church 19th Century Road Construction Buffalo National River Camden Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Camden to Washington Road Craftsman style architecture Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Forrest City Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Polk County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez free history tours Huntsville Arkansas African American education Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Doddridge Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Ouachita County Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps free historic preservation workshop Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Arkansas History Lesson Plans Abolition of Slavery slipcover removal grants Art Deco Architecture Walks Through History Perry County Arkansas Wingmead Kiblah School Monroe County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Montgomery County Arkansas Flood Control Henry Koen Office Building Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Burdette Plantation Roe Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Rustic Architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Prairie County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Main Street Texarkana American Legion Skillern House Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Booneville Historical Preservation Society U.S. Forest Service Historic Preservation Alliance Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Barney Elias House Benton Arkansas Erbie Arkansas National Historic Landmark Arkansas Preservation Awards North Little Rock Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Burdette Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District downtown revitalization Main Street Searcy historic resort communities Monroe County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Monsanto Chemical Corporation Camden Public Library cemetery preservsation Arkansas religious history Destination Downtown Conference Nevada County Arkansas Duck Hunting