Historic Theaters Conference Planned for August

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, May 25, 2017

Historic theaters are far more than old buildings that represent a bygone era. For many small towns, they remain important centers of artistic activity.

That concept is the theme behind the Winthrop Rockefeller Institute’s Historic Theaters Conference, which will be held Thursday, Aug. 10, through Friday, Aug. 11, at the Institute on Petit Jean Mountain. The Rockefeller Institute is partnering with the Department of Arkansas Heritage, the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, the Arkansas Arts Council and the City of Morrilton to present the conference.

“Historic theaters are frequently an important piece of a downtown renaissance,” said Stacy Hurst, Department of Arkansas Heritage director. “We feel this is an opportunity to help communities learn the value these historic theaters hold as resources for redevelopment and community revitalization.”

“Historic theaters are often the artistic lifeblood of a community, and there are many ways to leverage their influence and preserve their future,” said Janet Harris, director of programs for the Winthrop Rockefeller Institute. “We look forward to sharing some of those strategies and re-energizing the efforts of those who care about historic theaters in Arkansas and in our neighboring states.”

The conference will bring in outside speakers to discuss a variety of topics, including innovative ways to utilize historic theaters that engage communities in new ways and also contribute to a theater’s sustainability. On this topic, the Rockefeller Institute will lead by example with a special art display that will be announced in the coming weeks.

Other topics include fundraising, marketing, preservation and more. In addition to hearing from key experts, the conference will include ample opportunities for those working on and passionate about historic theaters to network and share success stories.

The conference is open to anyone who is interested in historic theaters, community arts programs and/or historic preservation. Admission for the conference, which covers registration, meals and lodging at the Rockefeller Institute’s premiere conference center, is $75 per person. After one person has registered representing a historic theater, community and/or arts organization, each additional person representing that same entity will be discounted to $50.

For more information, a conference agenda and a link for registration, visit


Recent Posts


Arkansas Register of Historic Places Art Deco Architecture Polk County Arkansas most endangered historic places Main Street Searcy Madison County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Booneville Historical Preservation Society Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Folk Victorian Architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Trail of Tears in Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Forrest City Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Marked Tree Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District historic resort communities Three States Lumber Company Fayetteville Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Freedom Park Newton County Arkansas Barney Elias House Dionicio Rodriguez Civil Works Administration Flood Control Renaissance Revival Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Montgomery County Arkansas Rustic Architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Duck Hunting Freedmen's Bureau Pike County Arkansas Arkansas Business History 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Paris Arkansas Camden Arkansas Benton Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Humanities Council U.S. Army Corps of Engineers National Register of Historic Main Street Ozark Main Street Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Rosenwald Schools Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Elias Camp Morris free teacher resources Cemetery Preservation Library Houston Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Real Estate Transfer Tax Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas Preservation Awards Bogg Springs Hotel Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Walks Through History Kiblah School Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum St. Francis County Historical Society Ozark Farming Bogg Springs Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference 13th Amendment Saline County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas American Legion Free Courthouse Poster steel window restoration workshop free history tours Burdette Plantation Roe Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Craftsman style architecture Helena Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut White County Courthouse downtown revitalization Mississippi County Arkansas News Release Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax International-Style Architecture Historic County Courthouses Tolbert Gill Perry County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Louisiana Main Street program Ouachita County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Historic Preservation Alliance Historic Preservation Restoration Grants National Historic Landmark Turner Restoration Nevada County Arkansas historic telephone booth Camden to Washington Road Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Buffalo National River Main Street Batesville Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Montgomery County Courthouse Pulaski County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center African American education Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Siloam Springs Miller County downtown economic development Russellville Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Design Network New Century Club of Camden Let Freedom Ring Arkansas History Lesson Plans Sunken Lands Cumberland Presbyterian Church Poinsett County Arkansas Camden Public Library Pope County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Monroe County Courthouse Sandwiching in History Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Monroe County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Naturalistic Architecture Mid-Century Modern Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Tudor Revival Architecture cemetery preservsation Civilian Conservation Corps Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas History Skillern House Booneville Arkansas Burdette Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Conway County Library Abolition of Slavery Wingmead Forrest City Cemetery free historic preservation workshop Erbie Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas slipcover removal grants North Little Rock Arkansas cemetery preservation Huntsville Commercial Historic District Arkansas African American Civil War History historic architecture historic Arkansas properties Arkansas religious history Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Pope County Courthouse Main Street Texarkana