Jacob Wolf House Reception To Be Held October 17

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, October 05, 2017

On October 17, 2017, Governor Asa Hutchinson and Department of Arkansas Heritage (DAH) Director Stacy Hurst will reveal the preservation and rehabilitation plans for the Jacob Wolf House Site and Territorial Courthouse. The public is invited to a reception at 2 p.m. to preview the plans.

New site improvements, supported by an Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council grant, will enhance the visitor’s experience. Grant funds will aid in restoring the historic structures on site, provide for new exhibits and allow the department to offer public programming.

“We are excited to announce the plans to restore and preserve the Jacob Wolf House property,” said Hurst. “The Department of Arkansas Heritage takes great pride in connecting individual Arkansans to our shared heritage and we look forward to the opportunities at the Jacob Wolf House.”

The Wolf House will offer comprehensive interpretive themes between 1829-1863 tied to the historic site. The Wolf House is Arkansas’s oldest public structure and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Department of Arkansas Heritage acquired the Jacob Wolf House Site and Territorial Courthouse in 2016 from the Baxter County Quorum Court. The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, a division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, operates the site with Marlon Mowdy as historic site manager.

Reception guests may park in the lots near the river below the historic site. A shuttle service is available.

About the Department of Arkansas Heritage
The mission of the Department of Arkansas Heritage is to identify Arkansas’s heritage and enhance the quality of life for residents and visitors by the discovery, preservation and presentation of the state’s natural, cultural and historic resources. This is accomplished through the work of eight divisions:
Arkansas Arts Council, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, Arkansas State Archives, Delta Cultural Center, Historic Arkansas Museum, Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and Old State House Museum.

Recent Posts


Historic County Courthouses Main Street Batesville Burdette Arkansas National Register of Historic Booneville Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Free Lesson Plan Civilian Conservation Corps free teacher resources Rustic Architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax White County Courthouse Rosston Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Humanities Council Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Ouachita County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs most endangered historic places free historic preservation workshop Let Freedom Ring Prairie County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Little Rock Central High School Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Destination Downtown Conference St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Forrest City Cemetery Pike County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction slipcover removal grants Doddridge Arkansas Freedom Park Sandwiching in History Camden Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Ozark Farming Mid-Century Modern Architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Pope County Arkansas Skillern House Perry County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South cemetery preservation 13th Amendment Cemetery Preservation Library Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Houston Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Arkansas History Phillips County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Newton County Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Barney Elias House Leake-Ingham Building Mississippi County Arkansas Camden Public Library Craftsman style architecture Conway County Library Abolition of Slavery Buffalo National River Turner Restoration Arkansas Railroad History New Century Club of Camden Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Design Network African American education Art Deco Architecture Pope County Courthouse steel window restoration workshop National Historic Landmark Montgomery County Courthouse Camden to Washington Road Flood Control Free Courthouse Poster Sunken Lands North Little Rock Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Three States Lumber Company Russellville Arkansas Main Street Ozark Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District historic architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants downtown economic development Paris Arkansas Main Street Searcy Burdette Plantation Tolbert Gill Elias Camp Morris Delta Cultural Center Madison County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Evelyn Gill Walker House Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Register of Historic Places Huntsville Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas cemetery preservsation 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Pulaski County Courthouse historic resort communities News Release Kiblah School Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Bogg Springs Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas downtown revitalization Roe Arkansas International-Style Architecture Arkansas religious history Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Wingmead Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Civil Works Administration Dr. Ruth Hawkins Cumberland Presbyterian Church Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Duck Hunting Main Street Dumas Downtown Revitalization Grants free history tours Miller County Rosenwald Schools Pike County Courthouse National Register of Historic Places Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Bogg Springs Hotel American Legion Fayetteville Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Benton Arkansas Arkansas Business History U.S. Forest Service Gothic Revival architecture historic telephone booth Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Clarendon Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Renaissance Revival Architecture "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Folk Victorian Architecture Monsanto Chemical Corporation Walks Through History Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Main Street Arkansas Helena Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Edgar Monsanto Queeny Saline County Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse