Kaufman Named AHPP Director

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, August 24, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—Stacy Hurst, director of the Department of Arkansas Heritage (DAH), today named Scott Kaufman as director of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP), a division of DAH. Kaufman comes to AHPP with 20 years of experience in higher education administration at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UALR). He has served in financial aid and student services, and since 2008, as director of mail services. Involved in the preservation community, he is a former executive board member of the Little Rock Oakland and Fraternal Historic Cemetery and is active with the North Little Rock History Commission and the Firehouse Hostel and Museum in Little Rock.

Kaufman holds master’s degrees in public administration and secondary education from UALR, as well as a bachelor’s degree in political science and history. He will begin work on Sept. 5.

“I am very pleased that Scott is coming on board to lead the AHPP staff,” said Hurst. “His administrative experience and successful career in higher education will be a valuable asset to AHPP’s mission to identify, evaluate, register and preserve the state’s cultural resources.”

The other agencies of DAH are the Delta Cultural Center, Historic Arkansas Museum, Old State House Museum, Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, Arkansas Arts Council, Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


historic Arkansas properties American Legion Forrest City Cemetery Rustic Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation News Release National Register of Historic Places U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Henry Koen Office Building Booneville Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola St. Francis County Historical Society Dionicio Rodriguez Sunken Lands Edgar Monsanto Queeny Duck Hunting Burdette Arkansas downtown economic development Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Fayetteville Arkansas African American education Downtown Revitalization Grants Skillern House Morrilton Arkansas cemetery preservation Arkansas Business History Huntsville Commercial Historic District Arkansas African American Civil War History Mississippi Main Street Association Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Barney Elias House historic architecture U.S. Forest Service Camden Public Library downtown revitalization Main Street Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Monroe County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Miller County National Historic Landmark Dr. Ruth Hawkins Pope County Courthouse Polk County Arkansas free history tours Gothic Revival architecture Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Rosston Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Louisiana Main Street program Poinsett County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Prairie County Arkansas slipcover removal grants free historic preservation workshop Trail of Tears in Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Tudor Revival Architecture Elias Camp Morris Main Street Batesville Flood Control Montgomery County Courthouse Camden to Washington Road Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas History National Register of Historic Paris Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants 13th Amendment Main Street Texarkana Historic Preservation Alliance Benton Arkansas cemetery preservsation Forrest City Arkansas Madison County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Roe Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas most endangered historic places Bogg Springs Arkansas Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Ozark Farming Marked Tree Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Clarendon Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Newton County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Walks Through History Camden Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Freedmen's Bureau Wingmead Renaissance Revival Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Register of Historic Places Nevada County Arkansas Sandwiching in History White County Courthouse Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House historic resort communities Main Street Dumas Three States Lumber Company Arkansas Humanities Council Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Russellville Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Kiblah School Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Preservation Awards Craftsman style architecture Burdette Plantation steel window restoration workshop Abolition of Slavery Pike County Courthouse Ouachita County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House Free Lesson Plan County courthouse Restoration Grants Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Helena Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery International-Style Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Tolbert Gill Huntsville Arkansas Buffalo National River Arkansas Railroad History Cemetery Preservation Library Main Street Ozark Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Turner Restoration Booneville Historical Preservation Society Destination Downtown Conference free teacher resources Free Courthouse Poster Perry County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas religious history Historic County Courthouses Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Freedom Park Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Saline County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Centennial Baptist Church 19th Century Road Construction Civil Works Administration Houston Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse historic telephone booth Conway County Library Main Street Siloam Springs Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Erbie Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Design Network Cumberland Presbyterian Church Montgomery County Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel